Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Books in Music Education
The Oxford Handbook of Social Justice in Music Education by Music education has historically had a tense relationship with social justice. One the one hand, educators concerned with music practices have long preoccupied themselves with ideas of open participation and the potentially transformative capacity that musical interaction fosters. On the otherhand, they have often done so while promoting and privileging a particular set of musical practices, traditions, and forms of musical knowledge, which has in turn alienated and even excluded many children from music education opportunities. Teaching multicultural practices, for example, hashistorically provided potentially useful pathways for music practices that are widely thought to be socially just. However, curricula often map alien musical values onto other musics and in so doing negate the social value of these practices, grounding them in a politics of difference wherein"recognition of our difference" limits the push that might take students from tolerance to respect and to renewed understanding and interaction. The Oxford Handbook of Social Justice in Music Education provides a comprehensive overview and scholarly analyses of the major themes and issues relating to social justice in musical and educational practice and scholastic inquiry worldwide. The first section of the handbook conceptualizes socialjustice while framing its pursuit within broader social, historical, cultural, and political contexts and concerns. Authors in the succeeding sections of the handbook fill out what social justice entails for music teaching and learning in the home, school, university, and wider community as theygrapple with issues of inclusivity and diversity, alienation, intolerance, racism, ableism, and elitism, or relating to urban and incarcerated youth, immigrant and refugee children, and, more generally, cycles of injustice that might be perpetuated by music pedagogy. The concluding section of thehandbook offers specific and groundbreaking practical examples of social justice in action through a variety of educational and social projects and pedagogical practices that might inspire and guide those wishing to confront and attempt to ameliorate musical or other inequity and injustice.Consisting of 42 chapters by authors from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, Finland, Greece, The Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, and the United States, the handbook will be of interest to a wide audience, ranging from undergraduate and graduate music educationmajors and faculty in music and other disciplines and fields to parents and other interested members of the public wishing to better understand what is social justice and why and how its pursuit in and through music education matters.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2015-11-27
Use SUMMON to Find Books & Ebooks at SU Libraries
- Print books at SU Libraries, including full-text indexing for titles also in Google Books
- Ebooks from various publisher collections
- Public domain digital book scans in HathiTrust Digital Library
Choosing Keywords for Music Education Topics
Browsing books and choosing different keywords can be a good place to start when you are beginning research. Try some of the following strategies, or search using your own terms:
Start with a basic heading
- Music instruction and study
- Folk music instruction and study
- School music instruction and study
- World music instruction and study
- Music in education
Add other endings to get more specific
- Social aspects
- Psychological aspects
(examples: Music instruction and study research, music instruction and study psychological aspects)
Related education headings
- Multicultural education
- Early childhood education
- Cognitive learning
Related music cognition headings
- Musical perception
- Music -- social aspects
- Music -- psychological aspects
- Music -- physiological effect
- Auditory perception
- Music and science
WorldCat is a world catalog of libraries that participate in SU Libraries' inter-library loan network. Search here for books, scores and recordings in other libraries, and we will borrow it for you, free of charge.
Find something you like? Collect the citation and place an inter-library loan request. PDFs of articles usually arrive in 1-2 days, and books usually arrive in 5-8 business days.
- Use the advanced search and the same subject headings from the SU catalog.
- Be sure to limit by format (book, musical score, recording)
- If on-campus, look for the "Interlibrary Loan" link to transfer the citation directly to our ILL request form.