Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I find articles?
1) Search for articles in more than one database, and use the databases suggested by your subject librarian.
2) Know that some databases index full article text, some index abstracts, and some index only citations. All are useful!
3) Try searching several different keywords. Don't be shy! Keep a keyword list and keep trying.
4) Once you find an article, click "view full text" or "PDF" to read it.
5) Don't see a full-text link? Click SU Links to find full-text in another database, find it in print in the library, or request the article through inter-library loan.
Suggested Databases for Music Education
access through EBSCO
Education coverage, indexes citations, abstracts, some full text
This database includes content previously found in Education Research Complete as well as Education Full Text, plus additional new content
Accessed through EBSCO
Music coverage, 1965 to present, citations, abstracts, no full text
uniquely indexes "The Instrumentalist," "General Music Today," "International Journal of Community Music," and "Journal of Music, Technology, and Education" as well as performance and jazz titles. Also provides indexing before 1995 for many music ed titles.
Music Periodicals Database
access through ProQuest
Music coverage, full-text indexed
Most music education titles indexed back to 1995.
Music Database provides full-text indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.
access through EBSCO
Psychology and education coverage, indexes citations, some abstracting, some full text
SAGE Journals Online
Indexes key journals published by Sage that aren't indexed in other databases:
Research Studies in Music Education
General Music Today
Earlier issues of Music Educators Journal
Index and abstracts of educational materials available since 1966. Includes citations to articles, book chapters, curriculum guides, and government reports.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.