The Ed Stabler Collection is comprised of approximately 950 titles, published from the 1960’s to the present. The formats are varied and the subjects are broad in scope. Most of the collection is comprised of books, but it also includes over 75 theses on microform, videos (13), and serials (~12). While the focus of the collection is on running, track, and related topics, relevant resources in health, sports, women in sports, biography, and nutrition are included, as well as, titles related to disability and juvenile literature. Given the scope of the collection, it is integrated within the collections in SU's Bird and Carnegie Libraries.
119 Days to go : how to train for and smash your first marathon by 
Running Past Fifty by
Baby boomer may be slower than they once were, but they show no signs of slowing down. Inspiring and insightful, here is the perfect read for every one of them. Lifelong runner Gail Waesche Kislevitz provides tips and motivation from 36 runners aged fifty or older. Running brings joy and health benefits to all participants, especially those of the baby boomer generation. But when legs get sore, joints feel achy, and old age creeps up, sometimes senior runners need a little extra motivation to get out of the door and on the road. Presenting time-tested recommendations, Kislevitz interviews some of the nation's greatest senior runners. Included here are exclusive interviews with greats such as Ed Whitlock, who, at the age of eighty-five, set an age-division world record of 3:56 in the marathon; Bill Rodgers, winner of four Boston Marathons and four New York City Marathons; George Hirsch, chairman of New York Road Runners; Olympian and author Jeff Galloway; world record holder Sid Howard; and runner and women's pioneer runner and advocate Kathrine Switzer And legendary runners aren't the only ones running well into seniority. Kislevitz also offers motivational stories from average runners who hit the pavement frequently and refuse to let their age stop them from competing regularly. "All the inspirational runners chronicled in this book have completely different stories and personalities, and yet we all share much. We also like to hang out together to talk about our training, our racing, our challenges, our sore muscles, and our future goals."--Amby Burfoot from his Foreword
Clinical Care of the Runner by 
I Can Run by
I CAN RUN is not a running book for 'runners' - it's the must-have running book for anyone who has ever experienced a moment of defeatism and had the little voice in their head make the excuse, 'I can't run'. In 12 chapters, you will discover that you can. You will dig deep to find your inner athlete. You'll learn how to train smart, recover well, sync your runs to your menstrual cycle and fuel right. I CAN RUN will ensure you never again wait until you're thin enough, fast enough, athletic enough, whatever-next enough to call yourself a runner, because if you put one foot in front of the other, repeatedly, you are a runner. Getting outside, surrounding yourself in nature and moving your body is more important than ever in these anxiety-inducing times, and Amy's debut will give you the encouragement and know-how that you need to do this. I CAN RUN recognises that this is hard and that committing to consistent training is often more of an accomplishment than the 10K, half marathon or marathon race itself. You will find comfort and encouragement in Amy's experience of cramps, chafing and the occasional little sick, while learning from leading experts about how to set yourself up for success and get the very best from your runs both physically and mentally. This book is real talk about the keys to going well far. We're all in it for the long run, together. We CAN do this!
Breakthrough Women's Running by
Breakthrough Women's Running is written just for you--a woman runner who has big goals and needs a plan to achieve them. In her trademark fun and upbeat style, professional runner and coach Neely Spence Gracey will set you up for success with an inside look at her own story in the sport--paired with the science, experience, strategies, and insights that have worked for her and countless other female runners who set challenging goals and achieved them. Told with engaging storytelling and packed with colorful images and practical recommendations to improve your running, Breakthrough Women's Running offers 5K, 10K, half-marathon, marathon, and run-walk training plans to suit your current distance or pacing goals. With the strength and mobility workouts included in the plans, you don't have to wonder where and how to fit in these important (but often overlooked) components of a successful running training program. Learn how to breathe in rhythm and how to focus with mantras and mindfulness exercises. Get specific guidance on how to best manage unique challenges that women confront such as hormone fluctuations; training through the menstrual cycle, while pregnant, or after childbirth; and training while also raising a family. Know how to train to prevent injury as well as how to return to running should an injury occur. And fuel your training with five simple recipes that are nutrient dense and simple to prepare. You'll hear from well-known, successful women runners such as Sara Hall and Nell Rojas on how even elite runners experience highs and lows in their training as well as how they themselves overcame obstacles to reach their goals. At the ends of chapters, you'll find Breakthrough Goals--a section of small, tangible actions that you can apply in your own training to overcome specific obstacles. If you're looking for a strategic and progressive approach for breaking through your physical or mental barriers to achieve more successful and fulfilling running, you've found it with Breakthrough Women's Running. CE exam available! For certified professionals, a companion continuing education exam can be completed after reading this book. The Breakthrough Women's Running Online CE Exam may be purchased separately or as part of the Breakthrough Women's Running With CE Exam package that includes both the book and the exam.
Fifty Places to Run Before You Die by
Fifty Places to Run Before You Dieis a beautifully illustrated collection of the most exhilarating running courses in the world. Featuring a balance of popular races (marathons, 10Ks, and endurance runs) and scenic trails off the beaten path, as well as interviews with accomplished runners and leaders of respected running organizations, this book divulges the details that make each venue unique--and plenty of tips for those who aspire to run there. Readers will discover events and courses both national and international, including the Ultra-Trail du Mont Blanc in France, the New York City Marathon, the Vancouver Sun Run, the Grand Canyon, the Dolomites in Italy, and the Great Ocean Road Marathon in Australia. Fifty Places to Run Before You Dieis an essential travel companion for runners of all levels seeking to conquer new terrain while breaking personal records.
Tales from the Trails by
From half-marathons, marathons, to even ultramarathons, the road stretches ahead mile after mile, charting the length to be conquered. But as Michael Clinton, premier globetrotter, runner, and author, knows, running is more than just about the physical distance: it's about the mental, emotional, and spiritual journey to the finish line. In Tales from the Trails, Clinton and numerous contributors, including sports medicine and fitness expert Dr. Jordan Metzl and Michael Capiraso, president and CEO of NYRR (New York Road Runners), offer deeply personal and inspiring stories of running and the ways in which it has helped them race past struggles, challenges, and personal limits. Tales from the Trails is a must read for runners of all types from the casual to the marathoner and is a much-needed reminder to run past the finish line, whether it be toward love, self-realization, or life. Book jacket.
What are you waiting for? from couch to running the seven continents by 
Science of Running by
Explains the hard science that will help people of all abilities to run faster, endure for longer, and avoid injury. Science of Running goes further than any other running book to interrogate the muscle groups and bodily systems involved in being an effective runner, and shows how to apply insights gained to train for optimal performance. The book examines the running motion of the body and explains how to analyse your own running style and re-train your gait to prevent injury and increase efficiency. Clear and detailed CGI artworks demonstrate 30 key exercises targeting strength, flexibility, and recovery - each exercise annotated to reveal the muscle mechanics so you know you're getting it right. The book also explains the science behind your body's energy systems, including muscle metabolism, hydration, and nutrition, and shows how you can train to maximise energy conversion. A series of integrated exercise and training programmes - from complete beginners, through 5k, 10k, half marathon and full marathon - bring everything together to help you plan a running regime that's right for you.
Mental Training for Ultrarunning by
It's no secret that if you plan to run in the toughest endurance races, you need to physically prepare for the extreme demands you will be subjecting your body to. But successful runners will be quick to note that physical preparation is only part of the equation. You need to be mentally strong to withstand, and overcome, the challenges of this grueling sport. That's where Mental Training for Ultrarunning comes in. Sport psychology consultant Addie Bracy has coached and provided mental performance consulting to elite athletes in many sports, and she herself has been a competitive distance runner for more than two decades. In Mental Training for Ultrarunning, she combines her firsthand coaching and running experience, along with profiles of ultrarunners who've experienced the highs and lows of the sport, to explain what you need to know and practice in order to cross that finish line. In this book, you will learn tools and techniques to help you prepare for and overcome some of the biggest mental and emotional challenges you may encounter in ultrarunning. You'll find more than 35 practical activities that will guide you in taking an introspective look at your own potential roadblocks so you can develop and strengthen the skills you need to run with confidence. Whether you're training for your first ultra or looking to compete at a higher level, Mental Training for Ultrarunning will prepare you for the good, the bad, and the worst experiences you might encounter on the trail, road, or track. With expert guidance from athletes who have seen it all, you'll learn how to train your mind and anticipate all the variables that could keep you from achieving your ultimate running goals.
The Runner's Foot Guide by
Do you want to increase your chances of running injury free? How about figuring out which strike pattern is best for you? Are some running shoes better than others for helping to prevent injuries and improve performance? As a runner, the risk of injury is high. In fact statistics suggest that up to 50% of runners will suffer an injury in the next 12 months. Given this high level of risk, it is important to identify ways to reduce your chance of injury. But doing so can be confusing because there is so much misinformation to lead you in the wrong direction and increase your injury risk - and waste your hard earned cash. The confusion is particularly evident when it comes to the role of feet and running shoes. In THE RUNNER'S FOOT GUIDE Aleks Baruksopulo provides clarity on these topics and steers you through the many contentious issues by answering questions faced daily by Podiatrists. This book is a must read for avid runners and includes five tips to help you on your quest for enjoyable, injury free running. ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Podiatrist Aleks Baruksopulo has been working in the field of sports medicine since 2007 and is passionate about running and promoting exercise. His passion stems from his own sporting experiences - not all positive having had to deal with heartbreaking injuries himself. In the past, he has been a running shoe store owner and is an accredited running coach, who is in a unique position to help guide you through the often-confusing world of feet and running shoes.