Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Palgrave Handbook of Musical Theatre Producers by This handbook is the first to provide a systematic investigation of the various roles of producers in commercial and not-for-profit musical theatre. Featuring fifty-one essays written by international specialists in the field, it offers new insights into the world of musical theatre, its creation and its promotion. Key areas of investigation include the lives and works of producers whose work is part of a US and worldwide musical theatre legacy, as well as the largely critically-neglected role of the musical theatre producer in the making, marketing, and performance of musicals. Also explored are the shifting roles of producers in musical theatre and their popular portrayals, offering a reader-friendly collection for fans, scholars, students, and practitioners of musical theatre alike.
Call Number: ML2054 .P35 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-25
Musical Theater Reference
Oxford Music Online
Good for looking up terms, people, instruments, locations, and styles within Western art music, jazz, American popular music, musical theater, and traditional and folk music from around the world.
Contains: New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of American Music, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Articles on musicians, styles, instruments, genres, geographic areas, and more.
Oxford Reference Online: Music & Performing Arts
Good for looking up definitions of terms and styles in both music as well as theater and dance; provides more concise articles than Oxford Music Online.
Contains: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music; The Oxford Companion to Music; The Oxford Companion to the American Musical; The Oxford Dictionary of Dance; The International Encyclopedia of Dance; A Dictionary of Opera Characters; The Grove Book of Opera Singers; The Grove Book of Operas;
Theater & Literature Biographies
Cross-searchable platform of Gale databases related to literature, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
American Variety Stage
From the Library of Congress; provides audio and video of vaudeville and other popular entertainment from 1870-1920, as well as samples of playbills, programs, and play scripts.
Internet Broadway Database
"the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."
Lortel Archives: Internet Off-Broadway Database
provides information about past and current off-Broadway shows