Research Guides: Women's & Gender Studies: Databases & Dissertations

Core Literature Databases for Women's & Gender Studies

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Archival documents relating to the historical, political, social, legal, and health aspects of sex, sexuality, and gender. Contains newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Includes modules on LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts 1-2); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; Community and Identity in North America.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885)
Publication published from 1830-1885 covering fashion, health, recipes, and as well as literary works, essays, and reviews.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Women's Studies International
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.
Women and Social Movements, International
Primary source collection of conference proceedings, books, pamphlets, articles, correspondence, diaries, non-governmental organization documents, and more focusing on women's international movements.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
Primary source resources, including pamphlets, letters, speeches, and publications from women's organizations, archives, and other sources across the United States.
Women Writers Online
Collection of early women’s writing in English, from 1400-1850.

Databases for Specific Paper Topics

JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
LGBTQ+ Source
Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.

Asian Feminists

Watch for SULinks Icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

Dissertation Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.

SU Dissertations - Women's Studies

Syracuse University dissertations sucessfully defended in 2008.