Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Book in Women's & Gender Studies
Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research
Searching for Resources in the SU Libraries' Catalog
Summon is SU Library's search engine. Using Summon, you can search the Library website for books, videos, articles, as well as other resources.
There are a number of databases that the Syracuse University Libraries subscribe to that will also give you access to a large variety of e-books dealing with women's & gender studies, if you are affiliated with Syracuse University. To access those databases, click on the "Databases" link on the Syracuse University web page (library.syr.edu). Then click on the arrow in the box "All Database Types". Then scroll down and click on the option "E-Book Publisher Collections (44)".
Here are examples of some of those databases below:
ACLS Humanities E-book
Books covering subjects within the humanities, including world history, philosophy, musicology, and film and media studies.
Duke University Press Books
Books from Duke University Press covering areas across the arts, humanities, social sciences, area studies, media studies, politics, and more.
Books covering a wide range of subjects, from many publishers
Books in many fields made freely available through a collaboration of the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Log in to enable all features.
Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Primary sources from the nineteenth century including monographs, newspapers, and pamphlets.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Books from Oxford University Press covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
ProQuest eBook Central
Create a sign-in to get access to all feature
Books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Access to select academic books published by Taylor & Francis, includes titles published by CRC Press, Routledge, and Apple Academic Press.
Women and Social Movements, International
Primary source collection of conference proceedings, books, pamphlets, articles, correspondence, diaries, non-governmental organization documents, and more focusing on women's international movements.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
Primary source resources, including pamphlets, letters, speeches, and publications from women's organizations, archives, and other sources across the United States.
Women Writers Online
Collection of early women’s writing in English, from 1400-1850.
Reserve books for Women's & Gender Studies are located on the first floor of the Bird Library. Online reserve materials can be accessed through the course Blackboard page.