Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Non library online and streaming
Art Reference Books
The reference books are located on the second floor of Bird Library and do not circulate.
More reference sources
American National Biography
Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive.
Archives of American Art
Smithsonian Institution. Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
Artcyclopedia for the fine arts- Library of Congress
Comprehensive online guide for artists, images and various museums around the world.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online is maintained with a regular updating program
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Full-text of scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.