Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Digitized Collections
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles, books and more covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada
The databases where you can find articles are in alphabetical order and NOT according to importance, since each researcher will have a different thesis and needs.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of over 750,000 images.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design.
Early English Books Online: EEBO
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640)
Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership
A marked-up, full-text subset of texts from Early English Books Online, created by a consortium of academic libraries. While the full text is eventually added to the main Proquest EEBO database, at any given time this database is likely to contain slightly more of that material
Eighteenth Century Collections Online: ECCO
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Online film streaming
Speculum is the oldest U.S. journal devoted exclusively to the Middle Ages. The chronological boundaries of the medieval period are defined as approximately A.D. 500-1500. The primary geographic focus of the journal is on Western Europe, but Byzantine, Hebrew, Arabic, and Slavic studies are also included. There are no restrictions as to subject matter: the journal publishes articles and book reviews on any and all aspects of the Middle Ages, including art, history, literature, philosophy and theology, music, science, law, and economics. All scholarly methodologies and approaches are welcome.
Generate Keywords for Searching
Take a moment to think about your topic.
Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions.
Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).
Think of words and phrases to use in a search for information regarding your topic.
If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information.
Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.