Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Library Resources for SUPA Instructors & Students: Media

Newspapers and Magazines Online

Guide to Online Newspapers at SU
Use the tabs at the top to browse SU Libraries newspaper database options for Local, National, and International news.

PressReader

Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

Google Magazines
Google Books recently started providing access to dozens of magazines, some going back to the 60s. It’s a limited collection, but nice and searchable.
 

Photojournalism and Image Resources

AP Images
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery.

ARTstor
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

Flickr.com: The Commons
Provides searchable access to photos from institutional collections in museums, libraries, and archives. Most images have no copyright restrictions. Also see Creative Commons images at Flickr for images from the general public with creative commons licenses.

Life Magazine Photography Archives hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Audio Resources

News & Public Affairs at the Internet Archive
Alternative independent radio news programming is featured here. In addition to a host of intriguing radio news shows, this collection features the Presidential Recordings collection of historical speeches and secret recordings.

Radio Programs from the Internet Archive
"If you're looking for advice about raising your child, conversations about personal change, a forum for transgender issues, or want to listen to an Old Time Radio show: the Radio Programs collection has something for you."

The British Library: Archival Sound Recordings
A variety of audio resources from the British Library.

BBC News Online: On This Day
On This Day features archived video, audio, and text from important events in history, organized by date and theme. Showcases of some of the most significant as well as some of the quirkier stories broadcast by BBC News since 1950 and now including a new World War II section.

Video Collections

Television News Archive
Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, FoxNews and more than 9,000 hours of special news- related programming.

Critical Past
 The collection spans thousands of hours of video, millions of still photos, and continues to grow.  Videos can be browsed and viewed for free, but Critical Past charges for video downloads.

The Prelinger Video Archive at Archive.org
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.

CNN Archives
You can easily access archived footage from CNN.com with the following google query: keyword site:archives.cnn.com; for example "gun control" site:archives.cnn.com

CBC Archive
This free site features thousands of radio and television clips from the archives of the Canadian Broadcast Corporation, organized by topic and period.