Research Guides: LGBTQ Studies: Books, Journals, & Databases

New Book - LGBT Studies

Lesbian motherhood:gender, families and sexual citizenship by Roisin Ryan-Flood
Call Number: HQ75.53 .R93 2009
Bird Library 4th floor

Library print collections

There are a number of materials in the SU Libraries that may be useful for your research in LGBT Studies. When searching with these terms in the SUMMON Catalog, be sure to search for them as subject headings.

Homosexuality
Gays
Gay Men
Lesbianism
Transsexualism OR Transsexuals
Coming out (Sexual orientation)
Bisexuality
Same sex marriage
Gay Couples
Gay Adoption

Print Resources in Reference on LGBT Studies

The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality by Robert T. Francoeur (Editor); Raymond J. Noonan (Editor); Martha Cornog (Editor)
Call Number: HQ21 .I68 2004
ISBN: 9780826414885
Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality by Wayne R. Dynes (Editor)
Call Number: HQ76.25 .E53 1990
ISBN: 9780824065447
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Marc Stein (Editor)
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
ISBN: 0684312611
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: HQ16 .E53 2003
ISBN: 030647770X
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Gay and Lesbian Biography by Michael J. Tyrkus
Call Number: HQ75.2 .G39 1997
ISBN: 9780787605636
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
The Gay and Lesbian Movement by Robert B. Ridinger
Call Number: HQ76.5 .R53 1996
ISBN: 9780816173730
Publication Date: 1996-11-01

Core literature databases for LGBT Studies

Alt-Press Watch
Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals, from 1970 to present; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts 1 and 2
Archive of primary source publications relating to the history and study of social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBT communities. Documents are from the collections of the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society, New York Public Library, and the Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Inc. Content includes newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
LGBTQ+ Source
Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Women's Studies International
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
Primary source resources, including pamphlets, letters, speeches, and publications from women's organizations, archives, and other sources across the United States.

Historical Coverage

Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Index to articles about world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Covers history of specific subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

General Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.

E-Book Resources

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.

Reference books

Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research

Course reserves

Reserve books for Anthropology are located on the first floor of the Bird Library. Online reserve materials can be accessed through the course Blackboard page

Free Web based Journals

Canadian Online Journal of Queer Studies in Education
The Canadian Online Journal of Queer Studies in Education was created to provide a forum for scholars, professionals, and activists to discuss queer topics in education and the social sciences in the Canadian context.
Gender Forum
gender forum is an online, peer reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues.
SQS: Journal of Queer Studies in Finland
SQS: Journal of Queer Studies in Finland is a trilingual publication welcoming articles, commentaries, and reviews written in Finnish, Swedish, and English. While SQS seeks to question existing normativities, including academic ones, it still insists on standards that ensure the validity and reliability of research.

E-Journals that the SU Libraries Subscribe to

You can use the SU Libraries' JOURNAL LOCATOR to search our directory of over 28,000 titles.

LGBTQ Studies: Books, Journals, & Databases