LGBTQ Studies: Websites

News for the GLBT Communities of Central New York. This print publication can be found at various locations throughout central New York.
315-289-6259
allforone@twcny.rr.com

Look up CNY Pride on Facebook
The mission of CNY Pride is to empower and encourage the Central New York LGBT community to celebrate and affirm their sexual and gender identities. We encourage, promote and enable individuals to become proud, active members of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community.

SAGE/Upstate is an intergenerational and culturally diverse organization committed to meeting the specialized needs of older lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender persons in the central New York region.

The LGBT Resource Center works collaboratively with all faculty, staff, and students to promote shared responsibility for a campus climate that is safe, developmentally supportive, and respectful for students, faculty, staff, and alumni who are LGBT or questioning.

"Limited to non-profit and/or information-providing organizations and publications with reasonably up-to-date websites having numerous full text resources and links...many of the websites give directory information for related organizations without websites as well as for associated regional and local chapters
see also: Gay and Lesbian Organizations and Publications of the Northwest and British Columbia" (from website)

This guide will help to explain the different approaches that same-sex couples can take to getting a mortgage, establishing ownership of a home, and creating legal documents that anticipate any legal or property-ownership issues that might occur if the couple breaks up or one partner dies. (website)

"Lobbies the federal government on gay, lesbian and AIDS issues; educates the public; participates in election campaigns; organizes volunteers; and provides expertise and training at the state and local level." (from website)

The Museum of Sex founded by Daniel Gluck, demonstrated its commitment to being an institution unlike any other, one wholly dedicated to the exploration of the history, evolution and cultural significance of human sexuality. (From Website)

The combined vision and mission on the Consortium is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Office/Centers. (From Website - "About us")

Founded in 1973, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation (the Task Force) was the first national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) civil rights and advocacy organization and remains the movement's leading voice for freedom, justice and equality. The website includes a resource library, media center and information about various issues. (From Website)

OutHistory.org is produced by The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS), located at the City University of New York Graduate Center.

""PFLAG" is Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians & Gays. We are a national support, education and advocacy organization for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered (GLBT) people, their families, friends and allies." (from website)

This site offers listings of LGBT/Queer programs and course offerings at institutions of higher learning in the U.S. and Canada.

The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography. (From Website)

The mission of Fenway Health is to enhance the physical and mental health of its community, which includes those who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender (LGBT), the people who live and work in our neighborhood (Boston), and beyond. (From Website)

Invisible Histories locates, collects, researches, and creates community-based, educational programming around LGBTQ+ history in the Deep South. Invisible Histories provides scholars with direct access to materials as well as creating a network of people conducting LGBTQ+ Southern archiving, preservation, education and research to make scholarship more accessible.

The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University promotes interdisciplinary research and scholarship in the fields of human sexuality, gender, and reproduction. The Institute was founded in 1947, just before the publication of Sexual Behavior in the Human Male in 1948. Today the Institute investigates sexual behavior and sexual health today. The Kinsey Institute library is a private collection and not open to the general public, but any qualified researcher may request access, including university faculty, other scholars, professionals, and university students at least 18 years old, with demonstrable research needs related to human sexuality, gender, and reproduction. (From Website)

This is the first formal and comprehensive guide to primary source material relating to the history and culture of lesbian, bisexual, gay, and transgendered (LBGT) people held by repositories in North America. While some of the repositories in this guide summarize their holdings in international online databases, others appear here for the first time in the context of other archival institutions.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives. (From Website)

The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered heritage and concerns. The site includes Web resources as well as information about the physical collection located in South Carolina. The Archives are international in scope and focuses on a variety of special interests to the Gay and Lesbian community such as the AIDS History Project, Lesbian Legacy Collection, and the Performing Arts collection.

The archival and special collections span the following subject areas: anarchist studies, arts and culture, environmental studies, literary history and criticism, political and historical affairs, transgender studies, and women's studies. (From Website)

This guide compiles resources to help researchers from all disciplines and affiliations locate and identify information on people who identify as transgender. Materials on transgender topics are often difficult to discover; language describing trans identities fluctuates over time and across cultures and regions. This guide helps researchers understand this research ecosystem and identify credible and relevant information sources. (From Website)

The award-winning LGBT news website. (From Website)

This archive in Toronto, ON, has a periodical section devoted to LGBT publications dating back to the 1930's and is perhaps the world's largest collection of materials. (From Website)

LGBTQ+ Blog

Founded in 1977, Frameline's mission is to strengthen the diverse lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and further its visibility by supporting and promoting a broad array of cultural representations and artistic expression in film, video and other media arts. (From Website)

At GLAAD, we are in the business of changing people's hearts and minds through what they see in the media. We know that what people watch on TV or read in their newspaper shapes how they view and treat the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people around them. And we have a responsibility to make sure those images foster awareness, understanding and respect. (From Website)

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

The Transgender Archives is actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations that have worked for the betterment of trans, non-binary, and Two-spirit people.