Research Guides: International Relations: More IR Databases

Database Searching

Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Archives of the Chinese Government
Archives and publications of the Chinese central government, from the National Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference.
Archives of the Communist Party of China
Archives and publications of the Communist Party of China including information from official organizations, i.e., the People's Daily Press, the Party Literature Research Office of the CPC Central Committee, the National People's Congress, and the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.
China Data Online
Statistical data related to China, including census, spatial data, charts, and maps.
China Geo-Explorer II
Web based spatial data service that allows access to comprehensive information from government statistics, population and economic Census, and many other data sources with functions for exploratory spatial data analysis. Includes pre-formatted summary, comparison and rank reports and maps, and allows users to quickly retrieve information for any area of Mainland China.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
[Databanks International] Provides annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables of use to social scientists. Includes some data coverage not found in sources like World Bank’s World Development Indicators or the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. For the list of FAQs about CNTS data, including countries and variables in the data set - visit - https://www.databanksinternaitonal.com/71.html
Digital National Security Archive
Declassified government documents from 1945 to present.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Europa World
Online Europa World Year Book providing basic facts, and political and economic information about countries and territories.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Peace Research Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas.
Polling the Nations
Information about polls on various subjects, including poll questions and responses.
ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
ProQuest Congressional
Publications related to or from the United State Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and covers 1881 up to within about 24 years of the current date. See also Proquest Digitized Newspapers: Los Angeles Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date. See also Proquest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Known globally for its coverage of business and economics. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date. See also Proquest Digitized Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Service newspapers from the British Library; Imperial War Museums; US Army Heritage and Education Center, US Army War College; Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand; Berlin State Library - Prussian Cultural Heritage.

Transitions Online [Transitions - Czech Republic]
A gateway to media outlets not readily accessible in the west (e.g., examples of publications: Novoe Vremea (Moldova); Kapital (Macedonia). Transitions Online compiles these into coherent web-accessible collections (e.g., by country name). In addition to daily journalism-the site allows users to locate, by country, a variety of links to that nation's political parties, government agencies, and think tanks. It also offers job listings, opinion pieces, essays, article packages focusing on common themes and year-in review annual surveys for each country. It does not limit its coverage to economic or political subject matter-but also links to news of the arts, culture and the humanities. It includes a searchable archive with content reaching back to the mid 1990s.

UN Comtrade Database
Repository of global trade statistics from many countries produced by the United Nations Statistics Division.

United Nations Treaties Collection
United Nations Treaty Series, include text and status of treaties, Treaty Handbook, and League of Nations Treaties.

World Bank eLibrary
As of 6/30/24, this platform will no longer be available. Please see the World Bank Documents and Reports, the World Bank Open Knowledge Repository, and the World Bank Open Data for content previously found here.
Collection of World Bank books, working papers, documents and data related to world-wide social and economic development. Includes World Development Indicators data and content from the World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO).
World News Connection
Archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service including translated newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, and non-classified technical reports.

See also:

Global Terrorism Database
[free web resource from National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism]
Provides detailed information on terrorist incidents.
ICTEye
[International Telecommunication Union] Free online service for identifying a variety of numeric telecommunications related indicators for various countries. Indicators covered include: Ratio of mobile cellular subscriptions to fixed telephone lines; Main (fixed) telephone lines per 100 people; Mobile, cellular subscriptions per 100 people; Internet indicators: subscribers, users and broadband subscribers.
Political Database of the Americas
[free web resource from Georgetown University]
A non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region. Offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
UCDP – Uppsala Conflict Data Program
[Department of Peace and Conflict Research, Uppsala University, Sweden] Since 1979 UCDP has recorded ongoing violent conflicts around the world. UCDP’s Conflict Database is a freely available, open access resource, containing detailed information on armed conflicts, peace agreements and other aspects of organized violence (1946 – present). UCDP’s website is also a portal to datasets and codebooks, trendline graphs and news on organized violence and peacemaking taking place around the globe.

Video-Audio-Images

A concise list of SU Libraries subscription databases in media studies and news that represent (or otherwise contain) significant online video, audio or image content. Kanopy, recently added, in addition to non-fiction and documentary video, also contains numerous U.S. and international feature films from the Criterion Collection:

Academic Video Online
Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.
Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)
American History in Video
Archival commercial and governmental newsreels, documentaries covering American history. Includes footage from United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel.
AP Newsroom
**Beginning November 1, 2019 this will replace AP Images Classic**
Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.
Filmakers Library Online
Documentaries originally from Filmakers Library covering a wide range of topics, from providers such as HBO, CBC Learning, BBC, Dramatists Guild, and IFC Films/Sundance Selects, and more.
Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
PressReader
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.

See also freely available news video searching available via:

Internet Archive TV News Search
(free online access to streaming news video - covering 2009 thru present. Downloading available via fee based loan on DVD - must be returned to Internet Archive. SU affiliated students and faculty should also visit the SU Libraries subscription to Vanderbilt University's Television News Archive, where online streaming news video is available for CNN (1995 - present) and NBC (1968 - present). Other major networks are indexed, but no immediate access to video online - for those - download is via a loan of those clips on DVD-must be returned to Vanderbilt Univ.)

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”

Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders. The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data. Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data. Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.

Sage Data

Off-Campus Access

For information on accessing SU Libraries subscription resources when you are off-campus:

Working Off Campus

Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "RefWorks" or "Zotero?" Visit SU Library's Citation Support website.