Research Guides: Public Administration: Books and Films

Core Social Science E-Book Databases

Cambridge Core
Access to journals and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press, covering sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Directory of Open Access Books: DOAB
Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Duke University Press Books
Books from Duke University Press covering areas across the arts, humanities, social sciences, area studies, media studies, politics, and more.
Elgar Online
Academic books published by Edward Elgar Publishing. Limited titles available.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
MIT Press Direct
A collection of scholarly e-books from MIT Press covering a broad range of topics, including open access titles.
Oxford Academic
Full-text journals and books published by Oxford University Press. Includes Oxford Handbooks, Oxford Scholarship, and Oxford Journals.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies browseable by subject and searchable. Links to full text may need to supplemented by searching SU Libraries collections.
ProQuest eBook Central
Create a sign-in to get access to all feature
Books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Sage Reference and Academic Books
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Springer ebooks
Full-text ebooks published by Springer from across the sciences, mathematics, engineering, business, social sciences, and humanities. Includes titles from Springer, Palgrave McMillan, Lecture Notes in Mathematics, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, as well as Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Access to select academic books published by Taylor & Francis, includes titles published by CRC Press, Routledge, and Apple Academic Press.
University of Michigan Press eBooks
Ebooks in the humanities and social sciences with particular focus in performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies (especially disability and class studies), Asian and African studies. These books are made available to libraries through the press’s own publishing platform, Fulcrum.

Streaming Video Databases

Syracuse University Libraries has several streaming video databases available for educational purposes.

These streaming video databases are highly recommended for social science faculty and students:

Academic Video Online
Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.
Criterion Pictures USA
Selected films from the Criterion Pictures USA collection.
Films on Demand
Selected titles from the Films on Demand collection.
Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming video titles, including feature films, on a variety of subjects, historic and current, from a number of production companies.

WorldCat

WorldCat
WorldCat searches library catalogs around the world. Items not held by Syracuse University Libraries can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.