Research Guides: African Studies: Journals, Databases, and Dissertations

Open Access African Sources

AfricaBib.org
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database) and African Women's literature (African Women Bibliographic Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Bibliographic Database).
Archive of African Journals - Michigan State University
The African e-Journals Project is a project of the Michigan State University African Studies Center, MSU Libraries, and Matrix: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters, and Social Science Online. It is co-sponsored by the Association of African Universities and the African Studies Association in the U.S.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Eldis - Africa South of the Sahara
The aim of Eldis is to:support the documentation, exchange and use of evidence-based development knowledge; and to communicate this knowledge effectively through a range of appropriately designed services, using the Internet (web and email) as the main communication medium for delivery(website).

Search for Books/eBooks

Summon Advanced Search

SU Libraries Journals

Find Journals

You can use the SU Libraries' Journal locator to search our directory of over 28,000 titles

African Affairs

Featured Database

Great for reports or statistical data on topics such as women in the DRC.

SURFACE

Syracuse University's major initiative in open access and preservation of scholarly and creative output emanating from the University is the SU Library hosted database SURFACE ("Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment")

Watch for the SULinks Icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

E-book collections

Each of these collections allows for full-text searching of all titles simultaneously:

ACLS Humanities E-book
Books covering subjects within the humanities, including world history, philosophy, musicology, and film and media studies.
Annual Reviews
Annual scholarly literature reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Log in to enable all features.Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.
Oxford Reference Online
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Free Web-based Journals

African Affairs - free virtual issue
This collection draws together recent publications on Kenya ahead of the next general elections on 4 March. All papers are open access until the end of 2013, so you just need to click on the links to download them.
African Journal of Information and Communication
The African Journal of Information and Communication is published by the Learning Information Networking and Knowledge (LINK) Centre, Graduate School of Public and Development Management, Univ. of Witwatersrand, South Africa. It is published as a forum for research, scholarship and academic debate within the broad ICT sector across the continent of Africa.
Africology: The Journal of Pan African Studies
JPAS is a trans-disciplinary peer reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the intellectual synthesis of research, scholarship and critical thought on the African experience.

Core literature databases for African Studies

Africa Knowledge Project (AKP)
Journal articles, research, folktales, music, and video across the humanities and social sciences, from and about Africa and the African diaspora.
Africa-Wide Information
South African produced index including journals, books, and documents covering Africa and African studies. Content includes the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, from the National Library of Namibia.
African Journals Online: AJOL
Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences.
EconLit
Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
OECD iLibrary
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.