Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. State Department)
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets - formerly known as Background Notes contain factual information on countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Note the date next to each entry to know when the information was last updated. Entries include data on land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.
The CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities, as of 2018.
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Browse by country name or search across all countries or any combination of countries. Covers history, geography, population, ethnicity, education, health, religion, economy, government, politics, military, and more.
From the Statistical Office of the European Commission. Many publications, data sets, and tables available for free.
International Statistics (UN)
Links to all statistics programmes of the United Nations, of the United Nations Specialized Agencies (FAO, ILO, IMF, etc), and selected Autonomus Organizations (Eurostat, World Trade Organization, OECD, etc).
Macroeconomic Indicators - Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)
Current indicators for Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.
OECD 2015-16 factbook (Discontinued)
Provides data by topic, e.g. health, education/training, information, communication, energy, environment, finance, technology, social welfare, etc. From the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
OFFSTATS (Univ. of Auckland)
Links to official statistics. Searchable by country, region, topic.
Population Reference Bureau
Provides data on 137 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)
A statistical database maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe) Secretariat. Contains statistics on gender, human settlements, economic trends, robotics, gas, demographics, etc. For Europe and North America.
Links to the following unrestricted databases: Millennium Indicators, Social Indicators, City Populations, Good Practices and InfoNation. From the United Nations Statistical Division.
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB)
Contains tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Searchable by variables and dates covered.
Access to SU databases in International Information
EIU-Economic Intelligence Unit
Provides recent and background political situation and events; economic forecasting; status of education, health, public funding, communications, Internet, energy resources; much data on economic factors, exchange rates, etc.
Provides excellent detailed background summaries and data on a variety of topics: population, health, education, economics, trade, agricultural products, media, etc. Also includes United Nations and other international organizations Older print publications also available:
JN1.E89 and JN1.E891
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Comprehensive source for statistics, covering many topics and geographic areas. Choose Search Abstracts and select "Index to International Statistics (IIS)" to confine searching to international publications Note: Many of the publications indexed in this database are available in full text on the 3rd floor, E.S. Bird Library. See the IIS microfiche cabinets.
World Development Indicators Online (WDI online)
WDI provides statistics for over 200 countries, including development indicators pertaining to population, education, health, security, economics, natural resources, etc. SU Library also has some older editions
Print: HC 59.15 W657 (2004 ed.--Bird-Govt Info Ref-3rd fl)
CD-ROM: 3rd floor Bird (2004 ed.) Ask at Desk.
Fiche: 3rd floor Bird (IIS microfiche 4530-S64)
Covers all types of official documents of the United Nations, starting in 1993, with older UN documents added daily. Also provides access to resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council, starting with 1946. Does not include press releases, UN sales publications, or the UN Treaty Series.