Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citizens Against Government Waste (CAGW)
Tracks government spending and notes possible government waste identified by this watchdog group.
Search issues by topic, links to articles or commentary from variety of organizations. Searchable directory of elected officials. Provides legislative highlights and tips on contacting congresspeople. A public service of Capitol Advantage.
Green Book (2014)
The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics.
Institute for Policy Studies
IPS seeks to create a more responsible society, one built around the values of nonviolence, justice, sustainability, and decency. "The only multi-issue progressive think tank in Washington, D.C.".
"Your guide to the money in American elections." Includes fund-raising data, contributions by industry, useful issue profiles (e.g. managed care, gun control, campaign finance reform.
A non-partisan non-profit that uses the power of the Internet to foster greater government openness and transparency.
Center for Naval Analysis
Defense and security analysis
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. This is the replacement for American Fact Finder 2.
Sections for people, business, geography, census news. Provides many paths to data, background, methodology, questions used, 2000 release schedules, and much more. Select American FactFinder (above) for custom tables and maps. For any other census needs, contact Social Sciences & Area Studies desk (3rd fl. Bird Library)
Provides access to U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Wide variety of topics included. 131st ed. 2012. SU Library has every issue of this title in print (beginning with vol. 1 in 1878). There are also links to the current edition in the Classic Catalog.
Census data from 2010 to 1790. Customize your data sets for a specific area of variable
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Grouped by national, international, regional, and industry. Includes state and local personal income, NIPA (national income and product accounts), estimates of GDP (gross domestic product), gross state product, balance of payments data, and related measures.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Statistics, charts, maps, etc on all aspects of energy types, uses, and consumption in the US.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Produces data and reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. Agriculture.