Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Federal documents in the collection
Start by going to the Classic Catalog Advanced search menu and go to the "LIMITS" options. Set your "Location" to (E.S. Bird Library - Govt Docs). Now select "Apply Limits." Now enter search terms, names, phrases, etc. into the search boxes to find documents from the Gov Docs collection
NOTE: These documents will have SuDoc call numbers
TIP: SuDoc call numbers like the example above have slashes "/" and colons ":" as part of the call number. This is how they differ from an LC call numbers.
ALSO NOTE: Some Gov Docs may be located in the general stacks and will have Library of Congress call numbers.
Basics of the Federal Government
Descriptions of the three branches of government and how they operate.
How the Federal Government is organized
A more detailed description of the three branches of government and the entities under each branch's umbrella.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Premier site for economic and labor statistics.
Consumer Protection / Issues
News for consumers, Consumer Action Handbook, sample complaint letter, etc.
National Contact Center
Have a question about Federal programs, benefits, or services? Contact government information specialists by phone, e-mail, or chat.
A great web site resulting from the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (Transparency Act) that requires a single searchable website, accessible by the public for free that includes for each Federal award:
1. the name of the entity receiving the award;
2. the amount of the award;
3. information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc;
4. the location of the entity receiving the award;
5. a unique identifier of the entity receiving
Government Web Resources
Comprehensive list from the Library of Congress includes meta-sites, official sites, and links for U.S. politics and select international sites.
Federal Election Commission
Click the "Election Results" link. Voter returns for all federal elections from 1982 - 2018
Here are various search engines for locating government information, both current and archived.
A new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government from GPO. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. This new site will eventually replace the FDsys website.
MetaLib search engine of Gov databases from GPO
A federated search engine for searching 78 different government databases.
The U.S. government's official web portal. Groups "online service" by audience, e.g. citizens, business, governments.
A directory which links to all branches of federal, state, and local governments and court resources. The local government directory breaks down each state by counties and cities (townships, villages, etc.).
Consumer-oriented site which organizes government sites and includes practical and entertaining material, e.g. report on which Firestone tires were recalled, FBI Most Wanted, Top 400 Political Donors, Richest Members of Congress. Filled with links to official government web sites.
An archive of government websites that have ceased operation
Docs acquired from FOIL requests
Digital archive links
Links to federal and state digital archive collections.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications