Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Maps & Cartographic resources: Home

Come to the Map Room and travel the world. The collection has cartographic and reference materials in a variety of formats that cover the entire Earth.

The Map Collection

Panoramic view of the Map Room

To Access the Maps

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic the Map Room will be open in a limited capacity for map room material use only and will not be available for open study at this time. Please stop at the 3rd floor service desk first.

Patrons are also asked to wipe down their work surface with supplied disinfectant both prior to and after use. There is a canister with disinfectant wipes when you enter the map room.

The maps, atlases and other cartographic materials are cataloged in the Classic Catalog or in SUMMON. A member of the staff will be glad to assist you with any questions you may have regarding the collections or finding the materials you need.

MAP REQUEST FORM

Please fill out this request form before coming to the Map Room. It will provide you with faster service.

Map request

To search just the map collection start by using the Classic Catalog and then use the Advanced Search tab. Scroll down to Location and select E.S. Bird Library – MAPS from the drop down menu. Now enter your search subject terms and place names, etc. into the search boxes at the top to find maps and atlases.

Also use the Virtual Map Room Tour to discover the what kinds of cartographic collections can be found in the Map Room.

Circulation

Most maps can be circulated or checked out at the Maps/Documents Service Desk on the 3rd floor. A valid SU or SUNY-ESF ID is required. Atlases, Reference titles, and aerial photographs do not circulate. Please look for the map of the floor plan of the Map Room when you enter the collection where the various collections are located and a complete list of items that circulate.

The Collections

The Library's Map Room is the location for cartographic materials in a variety of formats. With a collection of over 200,000 sheet maps, 5000 atlases, 80,000 aerial photos, and 50,000 maps in microform, the map collection also has an expanding collection of maps in a digital format. The Map Room also has a collection of Sanborn fire insurance atlases, along with a teaching collection of globes and wall maps and has an extensive reference collection of gazetteers, place-name guides, geographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, directories, and guide-books.

The Map Room has three large worktables for patrons to use. Scans of maps in print or from microform can be made from the two computers located in the workstation area next to the 3rd floor service desk.

Map Room Hours - COVID-19

As of Nov 12, 2020 The Libraries are now on Pause due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. At this time only university staff and faculty will be allowed into the Library and the Map Room.

Here are the new hours for the library.

Hours for the map room are Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm

Other LibGuides of interest

NEWS

New and exciting maps, atlases and geospatial data available in the map room or from the Maps & Cartography resources guide.

Contact

John Olson's picture
John Olson
Contact:
358 Bird Library

Individual appointments for in-depth reference inquiries are also welcome through MS Teams or Zoom.
315.443.4818
Social Media: Twitter Page

map room

View from the map room entrance

Welcome to the Map Room