Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Resources @ Syracuse University Libraries

SU Libraries' recommended research starting points for Newhouse School students and faculty

Welcome

SU Libraries supports all departments and programs in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.  In addition to visiting sources under links appearing in the menu bar of this guide, you can contact the Special Collections Research Center for information related to the history of radio & television.

Coronavirus Misinformation (via NewsGuard)

Coronavirus Misinformation Center (NewsGuard Technologies, Inc.)
Founded in 2018, NewsGuard is a for-profit venture that assigns a nutrition label assessment – and ultimately a color coded rating -  to digital news sources.

  • The inventory of dubious news websites tracked by NewsGuard has always been free to access
     
  • NewsGuard is waiving its $2.95 personal membership fee for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis for those interested in downloading their full browser plugin (works on Chrome, Safari, Edge and Firefox browsers, and on Edge mobile browsers for iOS and Android devices)
     
  • The tool can be applied for news website evaluation not limited to coverage of the Coronavirus
    ​ 
  • Students and other researchers are encouraged to apply a wide assessment criteria when evaluating sources, and in most cases not limit their assessments or rankings to any single review source or service (seek out multiple points of view in multiple respected sources).  See also the section of short online learning modules, under "Evaluating Information," within SU Libraries Credo Information Literacy Tutorials.  These review key principles for assessing information sources.

More about NewsGuard:

>and see also, subpages identifying NewsGuard’s leadership team, advisory board and investors 

  Communications Database BEST BET

Ebsco Host 

Communication Source  is a primary collection of articles and other references to published literature in all sub-disciplines of public communications, including advertising.  Covers articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals and other periodicals in additional related fields such as media studies, broadcasting, public relations, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric and more.  This database merges together two previously named resources, formerly known as "communication & mass media complete" (ebsco) and "comabstracts" (sage). 

News - Nexis Uni

LEARN  MORE ABOUT NEXIS UNI - WHICH IS THE LEXIS NEXIS REPLACEMENT INTERFACE FOR THE DATABASE FORMERLY KNOWN AS LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC:

Nexis Uni Support & Training (LexisNexis)

PDFs with overviews of Nexis Uni, user search tips, permalinking options, etc.

For a gateway to additional newspaper databases SU Libraries offers - visit the online research guide site called Newspaper Databases - Both ProQuest News & Newspapers & Access World News databases are highly recommended.

U.S. Federal Government Publications & Social Media

voxgov logo

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management system-like "RefWorks" or "Zotero?"  Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.

A P Associated Press
For stylistic guidelines for journalists particularly -SU Libraries also offers from Associated Press the AP Stylebook Online.

In the Reference Collection at Bird Library

Syracuse University Copyright Portal

SU Copyright Portal:  Provides educational information to the Syracuse University community about copyright and other laws, policies, and regulations that govern information creation, use, retention and adaptation for scholarly purposes. The Portal also provides guidance and direction to the University community on issues such as:

  • Authorship and protection of scholarship
  • Copyright ownership, including its rights and obligations
  • Limitations and exceptions, such as fair use
  • Licensing of electronic resources and media
  • Use of copyrighted works

All the Portal’s information is educational. None of the Portal’s information is, or should be considered to be, legal advice.