A Guide for Fungi Wherever They’re Found: More(l) on Mushrooms

Antonio Carluccio, known as "the mushroom man," has been gathering, cooking, and devising recipes for mushrooms for more than sixty years. In The Complete Mushroom Book, this award-winning Italian chef brings together more than 150 recipes that show off the strengths and subtleties of widely available varieties. Mushrooms contribute tremendous flavor without adding significant fat or calories, and here you'll find dishes from classic to contemporary, from Asian to Italian -- accompanied by stunning photography. You'll learn how best to pair different varieties with cooking methods and other ingredients, as well as the uses of dried and preserved mushrooms. For those who want to join in the thrill of collecting their own mushrooms -- "the quiet hunt" -- The Complete Mushroom Book includes an illustrated field guide for North America. This section provides detailed descriptions of all the major species to help distinguish between edible wild mushrooms and their poisonous, look-alike relatives. Fruity, buttery, nutty, spicy -- mushrooms can offer a surprising spectrum of flavors. They can enrich your cooking with an earthy sensuality unlike anything else. Let The Complete Mushroom Book be your guide to reaping the pleasures of these delectable gems of the forest. Book jacket.

Mineral Composition and Radioactivity of Edible Mushrooms is the definitive reference guide that collects and collates all recent very dispersed data and information on mushroom mineral elements and radioactivity. The book deals with the overall outline of the major and trace mineral elements of many both wild growing and cultivated mushroom species, including chemistry, biochemistry and environmental context, losses of minerals during mushroom preservation and cooking, and nutritional and health implications. This monography also includes a chapter on natural and anthropogenic radionuclides, along with the lessons learned after the Chernobyl and Fukushima disasters concerning mushroom radioactivity.

The Rainbow Beneath My Feet includes step-by-step instructions to the process from collecting the mushrooms to dyeing the wool. There is an accurate and up-to-date description for each species along with over 200 color photographs. The scope of this work goes beyond the identification of species. The authors provide information about dyeing equipment, mordants, preparing and dyeing the wool, and the dazzling array of colors that can be obtained from mushroom.

Wild plants have been used since ancient times as a source of human nutrition. The book presents new developments in applications of wild edible plants as emulsifiers, stabilizers, and thickeners of water-in-oil emulsions in food emulsion-based foods.

Mushroom guru Gary Lincoff escorts you through the cultural and culinary history of the mushroom, hunting and identifying wild mushrooms, mushroom safety, and on to preparing and serving the fungi. Stunning photographs and Lincoff's fascinating anecdotes from the field will make you an instant mycophile. Gathering edible wild food is a wonderful way to forge a connection to the Earth. Mushrooms are the ultimate local food source; they grow literally everywhere, from mountains and woodlands to urban and suburban parks to your own backyard. The Complete Mushroom Hunter, Revised will enrich your understanding of the natural world and build an appreciation for an ancient, critically relevant, and useful body of knowledge. With great expertise, Lincoff provides a complete overview of edible mushrooms: from the mushroom's earliest culinary awakening, through getting equipped for mushroom forays, to preparing and serving the fruits of the foray, wherever you live. Inside you'll find: A brief, colorful history of mushroom hunting worldwide How to get equipped for a mushroom foray A completely illustrated guide to the common wild edible mushrooms and their poisonous look-alikes, with information of psychedelic and psychotherapeutic mushrooms An illustrated guide to medicinal mushrooms Where to find your fare, and how to identify them How to prepare and serve your fungi Thirty delicious recipes Five appendices offer even more mushroom knowledge, with information on how to make mushroom artwork, mushroom cultivation, less common edible varieties, and winter hunting; plus find an essential guide to major poisonous mushrooms, symptoms of poisoning, and treatment. Whether you're just starting out with the hobby or an experienced mycophile looking to add to your collection, The Complete Mushroom Hunter, Revised is your ideal guide.

Larry Lonik shares his 45 years of experience and research picking, growing, and cooking morel mushrooms -- the easiest to identify, safest to pick and eat, and most sought-after of all wild mushrooms. Filled with distinctive wit and wisdom, plus delicious recipes from campfire to gourmet kitchen. Part of Lonik's 'Nature and Cooking Series'.

California and the Western States are rich in abundant and diverse species of mushrooms. Amateur mushroom collectors and mycologists alike will find over 300 species of the region's most common, distinctive, and ecologically important mushrooms profiled in this comprehensive field guide. It provides the most up-to-date science on the role of fungi in the natural world, methods to identify species, and locations of mushroom habitats. With excellent color illustrations showing top and side views of mushrooms of the Western States and a user-friendly text, it is informative but still light enough to be carried into the woods. When used to identify mushrooms, keys bring the reader to individual species, with a descriptive text providing cues for identifying additional species. Mushrooms common in urban landscapes are included, which is especially useful for the casual encounter with backyard fungi. The guide also provides a table of both old and new species names, and information on edibility and look-alikes, both dangerous and benign. A section on mushroom arts and crafts features mushroom photography, painting, philately, spore prints, dyes, and cultivation. The guide also offers a comprehensive list of resources including national field guides, general mushroom books and periodicals, club and society contact information, and web sites. · Primary descriptions and illustrations of 300 species of mushrooms plus text descriptions of many more. · Latest word in mushroom taxonomy and nomenclature. Clear discussion of DNA sequencing and new classifications. · Especially good coverage of southern California and Southwestern mushrooms often neglected in other field guides.

The study of the wild mushrooms of the woods and fields will appeal to the amateur collector and the lover of nature, as well as to the scientist with an interest in the field. The beautiful colours and textures displayed by these fungi provide an immense attraction to the artistic, while the more practical minded are interested in their culinary applications; to the more advanced student, the variety in form and detail of microscopic investigation offers an unlimited area of study. This fascinating book offers a comprehensive treatise on all of these topics, and anybody interested in mushrooms and their uses will find great value contained herein. The chapters of this book cover the main families of common mushroom and include: Danger from Poisonous Fungi, Agaricaceae, Polyporaceae, Hydnaceae, Clariaceae, Phallaceae, Lycoperdaceae, and Ascomycetes. This scarce book has been elected for republication because of its immense educational value, and is proudly republished here with a new introduction to the subject.

Fusing general interest in mushrooming with serious scholarship, Mushrooms of the Midwest describes and illustrates over five hundred of the region's mushroom species. From the cold conifer bogs of northern Michigan to the steamy oak forests of Missouri, the book offers a broad cross-section of the fungi, edible and not, that can be found growing in the Midwest’s diverse ecosystems. With hundreds of color illustrations, Mushrooms of the Midwest is ideal for amateur and expert mushroomers alike. Michael Kuo and Andrew Methven provide identification keys and thorough descriptions. The authors discuss the DNA revolution in mycology and its consequences for classification and identification, as well as the need for well-documented contemporary collections of mushrooms. Unlike most field guides, Mushrooms of the Midwest includes an extensive introduction to the use of a microscope in mushroom identification. In addition, Kuo and Methven give recommendations for scientific mushroom collecting, with special focus on ecological data and guidelines for preserving specimens. Lists of amateur mycological associations and herbaria of the Midwest are also included. A must-have for all mushroom enthusiasts!

Ideal for hikers, foragers, and naturalists, the Timber Press Field Guides are the perfect tools for loving where you live.   Mushrooms of the Northeastern United States and Eastern Canada is a comprehensive field guide to the most conspicuous, distinctive, and ecologically important mushrooms found in the region. This useful guide features introductory chapters on the basics of mushroom structure, life cycles, and habitats. Profiles include color photographs, keys, and diagrams to aid in identification, and tips on how to recognize and avoid poisonous mushrooms.  Covers Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Wisconsin, and the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Ontario, and most of Quebec Describes and illustrates more than 500 species 550 photographs, with additional keys and diagrams Clear, color-coded layout

With its dense forests and plentiful rainfall, West Virginia and the rest of the Central Appalachian region is an almost perfect habitat for hundreds of varieties of wild mushrooms. For the mushroom hunter, this vast bounty provides sheer delight and considerable challenge, for every outdoor excursion offers the chance of finding a mushroom not previously encountered. For both the seasoned mycologist and the novice mushroom hunter, Mushrooms of West Virginia and the Central Appalachians serves as a solid introduction s of the region. Some 400 species are described and illustrated with the author's own stunning color photographs, and many more are discussed in the text. Detailed mushroom descriptions assure confident identifications. Each species account includes remarks about edibility and extensive commentary to help distinguish similar species. A comprehensive glossary of specialized mycological terms is provided.