A Guide for Fungi Wherever They’re Found: Displayed Books

Of all the groups of wild mushrooms, none have engendered more enthusiasm and affection than the boletes. Their inherent beauty, abundance, and, for many, culinary appeal have firmly established them in the hearts of mushroom hunters around the world. The habitats, geographic distribution, and ecology of boletes--including the intriguing relationships they have with trees and shrubs--only add to their interest. Boletes of Eastern North America, Second Edition offers readers a comprehensive field guide, providing extensive descriptions and more than 450 rich color photographs. Each species listing includes the most recent scientific name with existing synonyms; common names when applicable; and an overview with field impressions, similar species, and detailed information about habitat, fruiting frequency, and geographic distribution. Updated and expanded from the previous release to incorporate new photos and an improved, more readable layout, this is an indispensable resource for mycologists, mushroom hunters, foragers, and cooks alike.

Mycologists Alan and Arleen Bessette offer a field guide for the identification of common edible and poisonous mushrooms of New York State. Written for readers interested in the safe collection and consumption of a variety of mushrooms, this book includes identification keys for each species and detailed descriptions of poisonous species. In addition, the book is filled with vivid color photographs. Celebrating the culinary adventure of mushroom gathering, the authors include attractive recipes accompanied by photographs of the recipes' preparation. With concise, accurate, and easy-to-follow descriptions, the book provides a safe and reliable introduction to mushroom gathering.

This is a comprehensive field guide to the milk mushrooms of North America. Featuring over 150 species and varieties, this volume includes detailed descriptions and more than 250 rich color photographs. The photographs were selected for high-quality color fidelity, documentary merit, and the aesthetic appeal of the subject. The number of species described and illustrated in color, some for the very first time, is substantially more than has previously appeared in any other single work devoted to the milk mushrooms of North America. With accurate, detailed, and easy-to-follow descriptions, this volume is ideally suited for both amateur mushroom enthusiasts and professional mycologists. In addition to the descriptions and illustrations, it includes sections devoted to the features and process of identification, to the ecology of milk mushrooms, and to the edibility of members of the genus Lactarius. Additional sections for species related to Lactarius and hyperparasites of the genus are included in this field guide.

Although known for its sandy beaches and pounding surf, historic Cape Cod is also home to a unique community of mushrooms that can be found in its heath, pine, and oak barrens and on the borders of its bogs, kettle ponds, and cedar swamps. Here is the definitive, comprehensive field guide to the highly varied mycoflora of Cape Cod and the National Seashore. It is written in easy-to-follow, nontechnical language and contains accurate and up-to-date descriptions along with 145 color illustrations that help the reader identify over 250 indigenous mushroom species. The scope of this work goes well beyond the identification of mushrooms. The authors provide information that increases the reader's awareness of the fragile nature of Cape Cod's various ecosystems and the critical role that mushrooms play in helping to preserve them.

This encyclopaedic volume, including 1500 species and 650 illustrations, shows the diversity of mycoflora throughout all of northeastern North America. It provides a reference for mushroom identification in the region, and has full descriptions and easy-to-follow keys.

This book is a comprehensive field guide to the mushrooms of the southeastern United States. Although it will stand on its own, it is intended to compliment and serve as a companion to Mushrooms of Northeastern North America, also published by Syracuse University Press. Together these volumes form a foundation and reference for identifying mushrooms found in eastern North America from Canada to the subtropics of Florida and Texas. This book features more than 450 species that are fully described and illustrated with photographs, many for the first time in color. The photographs were selected for high-quality color fidelity and documentary merit, and reflect some of the aesthetic appeal of our subject. The number of species described and illustrated in color is substantially more than has previously appeared in any other single work devoted to the mushrooms of the southeastern United States. Cross referencing to additional species occuring in the region that are illustrated in Mushrooms of Northeastern North America is provided. Although this book contains the necessary detail required by advanced students and professional mycologists, it emphasizes identification based primarily on macroscopic field characters for easier use by a general audience. Each illustrated species is accompanied by a detailed description of macroscopic and microscopic features based on the concepts of their original authors.

North American Boletes is the first comprehensive guide to an extraordinary and highly prized group of mushrooms known for their beautiful colors, distinctive features, relative abundance, and ­edibility. The scope of this work goes beyond the identi­fication of species. The authors consider the sym­biotic relationship boletes share with higher plants and trees, their geographical ­distribution, and new information regarding the macrochemical test reactions of the boletes; they also describe several new species. The book's unique combination of aesthetically appealing and scientifically accurate color photographs coupled with extensive descriptions makes it a standard reference work for bolete identification in North America. Special Features of the Book include: More than 450 color photographs illustrating more than 300 species Descriptions with accurate, updated nomenclature and a comments section that includes information on look-alike species and field observations Easy-to-follow keys constructed for both eastern and western North America that emphasize macroscopic features Nontechnical language and a glossary that make it an indispensable guide for professional as well as amateur mycologists Information on collecting, cooking, and ­pre­serving boletes