A suitable subject is one that:
References and Sources Advice:
Reports, videos, blog posts, podcasts, zines and other publications covering the voices and achievements of the LGBTQ+ movement from the 1980s to today.
Archival documents relating to the historical, political, social, legal, and health aspects of sex, sexuality, and gender. Contains newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Includes modules on LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts 1-2); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; Community and Identity in North America.
Books, magazines, photographs, maps, letters, diaries, ephemera, videos, and audio files on Latin American and Latinx culture. Includes the module Latin American History and Culture.
Newspaper articles about Hispanic and Latino/a life, culture and politics in America from the 1500s to the present.
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Wire copy, intra- and inter-bureau correspondence, photos, video footage, and personal papers from reporters and photographers affiliated with the Associated Press. Libraries access includes module U.S. Cities Bureaus Collection, 1931-2004
Newspapers from colonial America including The Virginia Gazette (1732-1775), The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1815), The Charlestown Gazette (1779–1780), The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina (1777–1780), The South-Carolina and American General Gazette (1764–1775); The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1775), and The South-Carolina Gazette and Country Journal (1765–1775).
Digitized, page image access to the Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 newspaper, and cruise-ship Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, from 1923—1931.
Select magazine titles from various publishers with full-page in-browser viewing. Limited titles available.
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 2001.
Images are an important addition to Wikipedia articles – both portraits of subjects and images of their work. However, images used on Wikipedia must meet clear criteria. When in doubt about an image’s copyright, do not upload it.
The Wikipedia Image Use Policy explains that images can be used if they abide by one of the following conditions:
Freely licensed image databases:
*As of August 1, 2025 AP Images Collection will be discontinued. AP Newsroom hosts content previously found on AP Images.*
Associated Press images and audio recordings.
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion [2 Volumes]
by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements
by
