| Indicators | Exemplary | Developing | Emergent | Not Evident |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.1 Explains how one’s own identity can inform a sense of social responsibility, individual priorities, and actions. | Explains connections between one’s own identity, sense of social responsibility, individual priorities, and actions. |
Explains some aspects of one’s identity and attempts to link it to social responsibility, individual priorities, and actions. |
Identifies some aspects of one’s own identity without linking to social responsibility, individual priorities, and actions. |
Does not explain how one’s own identity informs a sense of social responsibility, individual priorities, and actions. |
| 1.2 Analyzes one’s own role in communities/structures in which they are/are not a part. | Contrasts and compares one’s own roles in their own communities/structures and explains how they differ from communities/structures that are not their own. |
Contrasts and compares one’s own roles in their own communities/structures, but without explanation for how they might differ from communities/structures that are not their own. |
Identifies one’s own roles in their own communities/structures. | Does not analyze one’s own role in communities/structures of which they are/are not a part. |
| 1.3 Illustrates situations when one’s own values, identities, cultures, histories, and communities have influenced one’s own actions. | Illustrates, with relevant examples, situations when one’s own values, identities, cultures, histories, and communities have influenced one’s own actions. |
Illustrates partially, with relevant examples, situations when one’s own values, cultures, histories, and communities have influenced one’s own actions. |
Lists situations when one’s own values, identities, cultures, histories, and communities have influenced one’s own actions, but without examples. |
Does not illustrate situations when one’s own values, identities, cultures, histories, and communities have influenced one’s own actions. |
The Personal Identity Wheel is a worksheet activity that encourages students to reflect on how they identify outside of social identifiers. The worksheet prompts students to list adjectives they would use to describe themselves, skills they have, favorite books, hobbies, etc. Unlike the Social Identity Wheel, this worksheet does not emphasize perception or context.
The Social Identity Wheel worksheet is an activity that encourages students to identify social identities and reflect on the various ways those identities become visible or more keenly felt at different times, and how those identities impact the ways others perceive or treat them. The worksheet prompts students to fill in various social identities (such as race, gender, sex, ability disability, sexual orientation, etc.) and further categorize those identities based on which matter most in their self-perception and which matter most in others’ perception of them.
Mapping Social Identity Timeline Activity
This activity asks students to create a visual map of their socialization in some aspect of identity (such as race, gender, sexual orientation, etc.) through the course of their life. Students will create a timeline of their lives, noting at what ages they learned particular lessons about their identity, by whom those lessons were taught, and how those lessons were taught.
Identity Exploration Exercise: “Who Am I”
The Who Am I: Identity Exploration Exercise worksheet provides a unique way to help clients explore their identity. They will name each part of their identity, describe what it means to them, and rate how strongly they identify with this part. At the end of the worksheet, they create a nickname or title for their identity that encompasses its most important aspects.
This exercise provides you with a list of 81 common values that you can narrow down until you identify values that resonate most with you.
This exercise is meant to help you determine what things act as your life compass. It will help you understand what is important to you in different areas of your life. and how well you are doing at living those values right now. Follow this link to access the exercise and its instructions.
The Spectrum Activity, Questions of Identity
The Spectrum Activity, Questions of Identity are questions for discussion or reflective writing that prompt students to critically consider their identities and the relationship between identity and context.
This exercise can foster the empathetic capacity of participants to “walk in the shoes” of others. Many situations do not have immediate answers or clear resolutions. Recognizing these situations and responding with empathy can improve the “cultural climate” and build trust among group members. HSR helps individuals learn to respond in ways that do not overpromise or overcontrol. It helps members of a group notice unwanted patterns and work together on shifting to more productive interactions. Participants experience the practice of more compassion and the benefits it engenders.
Exploring what students consider to be typical U.S. cultural values while comparing them to their perceptions. The educational goals include: 1) Understand the concepts of “Culture” and intercultural adaptation. 2) Cultural knowledge and awareness: To become more aware of their own cultural values and recognize their culture’s influence on their behavior.
This exercise put students in touch with family history and help them discover how much of our past lies hidden in "old things." In this lesson, students first examine pictures of household objects from the late 20th century and gather historical information about them from older family members, then create an in-class exhibit of historical objects from their own homes.
This lesson delves into the concept of diversity by defining its key aspects, examining the distinction and connection between surface and deep diversity, exploring the benefits of diversity in educational settings, and understanding accessibility and its impact on campuses and communities. Activity by Lumen Learning.
Foundations of Culture and Identity
This lesson explores the concepts of culture and identity by defining culture and examining personal, social, and cultural identities, analyzing the development of dominant and nondominant identities, and understanding the significance of diversity in the study of cultural and identity dynamics. Activity by Lumen Learning
| Indicators | Exemplary | Developing | Emergent | Not Evident |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
2.1 Analyzes historical and/or modern cases of systemic injustice and inequities. |
Compares and contrasts multiple historical and/or modern cases of systemic injustice and inequities. |
Explains a historical and/or modern case of systemic injustice and inequities. |
Provides examples of historical and/or modern cases involving power and oppression. | Does not analyze historical and/or modern cases of systemic injustice and inequities. |
| 2.2 Assesses how historical systemic injustices impact present-day patterns of inequity/inequality. | Assesses the impacts of a historical case of systemic injustice on present-day patterns of inequity/inequality. |
Describes a historical case of systemic injustice, and describes a present-day case of systemic injustice, but does not make connections between the two. |
Identifies a present-day case of systemic injustice. | Does not assess how historical systemic injustices impact present-day patterns of inequity/inequality. |
Culture Learning: Simulations & Exercises
This resource includes over 20 simulations you could utilize in classroom to examine systemic injustice and inequities.
APSA Resources on Systemic Racism & Social Justice
Offers a collection of case studies and scholarly work focused on systemic racism and social justice issues.
A Guide to Discussing Identity, Power and Privilege, University of Southern California. Includes in class activity lesson plans on topics including. understanding privilege and systems of power and intersectional identity and privilege.
Examining Privilege and Oppression
This discussion-based activity from the University of Michigan, guides students in understanding privilege and oppression
as concepts. Students will recognize the ways their own privileges benefit them and
impact daily life or recognize the different manifestations of oppression they face due to
privilege(s) they do not hold.
| Indicators | Exemplary | Developing | Emergent | Not Evident |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3.1 Determines the differences and relationships between diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
Determines relationships between diversity, equity, inclusion, and access through examples taken from a variety of contexts. |
Describes contexts in which diversity, equity, inclusion, and access have/have not been taken into consideration. |
Defines and makes distinctions between diversity, equity, inclusion, and access as concepts. |
Does not determine the differences and relationships between diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
| 3.2 Analyzes strategies that foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and access in different contexts. |
Compares and contrasts strategies that foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and access in multiple contexts.
|
Explains strategies that foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and access in a single context. |
Identifies strategies that foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and access.
|
Does not analyze strategies that foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
| 3.3. Applies strategies appropriate to one’s own field of study/profession for fostering diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
Applies strategies appropriate to one’s own field of study/profession for fostering diversity, equity, inclusion, and access.
|
Justifies how strategies appropriate to one’s own field of study/profession have fostered diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
Provides examples appropriate to one’s own field of study/profession that demonstrate how diversity, equity, inclusion, and access can be fostered. |
Does not apply strategies appropriate to one’s own field of study/profession for fostering diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. |
Ideas for Teaching Diversity
This document includes 15 sample assignments for college-level journalism classes from various universities, most of which could be applied to other disciplines.
Practicing Inclusive Communication in Your Courses
This guide includes best practices and tips designed to help you: Incorporate inclusive communication practices into any course; Develop and demonstrate intercultural awareness; Foster intentional presence and mindfulness; Practice effective and clear communication with your students; Leverage Canvas features and tools to help you practice inclusive communication; Request support from your Instructional Design Partner and the Technology Service Desk.
Inclusive Teaching Strategy: Reflecting on Your Practice
University of Michigan's checklist assists instructors in assessing how well they are addressing issues of content, instructional practice, and classroom interactions.
Integrity Ethics Teaching Guide: Table of Exercises
The E4J University Modules on Integrity and Ethics include over 70 interactive exercises to help evaluate and respond to ethical dilemmas.
| Indicators | Exemplary | Developing | Emerging | Not Evident |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4.1 Analyzes widely recognized ethical frameworks, including disciplinary-specific frameworks. |
Analyzes details of different ethical frameworks, and accurately compares and contrasts frameworks, including their own personal framework.
|
Explains a widely recognized ethical framework in relationship to their own personal ethical framework. | Names major widely recognized ethical frameworks; describes their own personal ethical framework | Does not analyze widely recognized ethical frameworks, including disciplinary-specific frameworks. |
| 4.2 Applies widely recognized ethical frameworks to analyze actions occurring in a real-world/disciplinary-specific situation. | Explains strengths and limitations of the framework, justifies the choice of framework, and provides plausible reasons for the actions taken. | Describes strengths and limitations of the framework, attempts to justify the choice of framework and provides plausible reasons for actions taken. |
Explains how major ethical frameworks could be applied to real-world situations, but does not describe strengths and limitations, make a choice of framework, or address actions taken. |
Does not apply widely recognized ethical frameworks to analyze actions occurring in a real-world/disciplinary-specific situation. |
| 4.3 Craft or improve upon one's own code of ethics. |
Formulates, or revises, one’s own personal code of ethics in an educated and informed manner, taking into account strengths and weaknesses of existing ethical frameworks. |
Formulates, or revises, one’s own code of ethics and can begin to justify it within the context of existing ethical frameworks. | Identifies connections between one’s own personal values and existing ethical frameworks, without making revisions to the former. | Does not craft or improve upon one's own code of ethics. |
| 4.4 Evaluate possible actions in the context of one's personal code of ethics and other ethical frameworks. |
Determines an appropriate ethical framework for a given situation and questions whether one’s own personal code of ethics is compatible to suggested actions. |
Identifies actions consistent with own personal code of ethics and provides reasons for the strengths and limitations of those actions. | Applies some aspects of own personal code of ethics, but also considers other ethical frameworks as appropriate for situation. |
Does not evaluate possible actions in the context of one's personal code of ethics and other ethical frameworks.
|
Ethics Boot Camp consists of approximately 10 hours of ethics activities for students that can be used in a variety of settings. It is designed to be engaging and fun for students, while still introducing them to principles-based ethics, ethical decision-making, recognizing ethical dilemmas, and the specific ethical principles laid out by the Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative: integrity, trust, accountability, transparency, fairness, respect, rule of law, and viability.
Business Ethics Network - Ethical Decision Making: A Step-by-Step Guide
This guide offers a step-by-step approach to ethical decision-making, helping users craft and improve their own code of ethics and evaluate actions in the context of personal and other ethical frameworks.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics - Thinking Ethically
This resource provides a comprehensive guide to ethical decision-making, including analyzing widely recognized ethical frameworks and applying them to real-world situations.
Resources Related to Racism and Social Justice - National Association of Social Workers
Provides resources to support individuals and groups in taking action, providing public education and advocacy, developing training, and organizing community efforts related to racial equity and social justice.