Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

COM 346: Race, Gender, and The Media - Research Starting Points Guide [Professor Charisse L'Pree Corsbie-Massay - Spring 2024]

A course guide from the Newhouse School Librarian (SU Libraries) leading to starting points useful for uncovering additional sources for the Wikipedia projects in COM 346

Photojournalism, Image, and Audio Resources

    • Wikimedia Commons
      Wikimedia Foundation's media repository of free-to-use images, sounds, videos and other media
       
    • Creative Commons
      Large collection of images with licensing options amenable to sharing wiht others online, including on Wikipedia.  VIsit their page to "search the commons"
    •  
    • Flickr.com
      One of the largest online photo-sharing communities. Provides searchable access to photos from the general public as well as institutional collections in the flickr commons.
    •  
    • This guide from Carnegie Mellon University also pulls together a lot of useful image resources, including some collections that are open access for academic use https://guides.library.cmu.edu/vr/image_collections_list
      *
      Ignore any directional guidance specific only to that university.
    •  
    • COM 346 students will not want to use/reuse images from licensed databases for upload to Wikipedia, absent explicit permission from the owners of any such images
    •  
    • [these databases below are large collections of news sources, magazines and associated press images - curent and historical.  They can be quite useful for "in-class only" presentations and other personal research purposes;  be aware too, the database companies providing the access do not "own" the images - rather, the underlying publications and sometimes individual photographers are going to have such ownership].  Wikpedia itself will likely reject images of this kind (drawn from licensed or otherwise paywalled databases).  However, solely because an image is available open access does not mean it can be copied and republished without permissions or other forms of licensing.
       
    • PressReader 
      Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.  Many titles are available here on a rolling 90 day basis, with back issues for some selected titles reaching back several years
    •  
    • AP Newsroom
      Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists. Copyright Note: Do not redistribute these images nor re-use them beyond classroom related purposes -in other publications or on open websites or social media channels  - without direct permissions and rights clearance from Associated Press.
       
  •  

Streaming Video Collections