Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

Literature Review Process and SU Libraries Tools: iSchool REU Program (Sum 2024)

Search Strategy Tools

The Constructing a Search worksheet is a useful tool for mapping concepts and potential searches prior to starting your search in a database:

Find Books, Articles, Media, and More using Libraries Search

SU Libraries' new Libraries Search Platform was launched on June 26 and replaces the Classic Catalog and Summon. Visit this page for detailed instructions and videos on the use of Libraries Search. Electronic resources will be activated in Libraries Search on an ongoing basis. For assistance in finding electronic resources, please contact the Libraries via the Get Help pagelibref@syr.edu, or Brenna at bhelmstu@syr.edu.

Starting Points in Identifying Sources

These databases are good starting points for iSchool research. They may contain a mix of journal articles, conference proceedings, and other content. 

Your Google Scholar

Google scholar link:  scholar.google.com

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings.  Follow the steps below.

NOTE:  Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

  1. Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
  2. Click on More options icon in google scholarin the upper left corner, then select Settings or Settings icon in google scholar
  3. Click on Library Links in the left column.
  4. Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
  5. Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page.  When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

Interlibrary Loan

For resources not in Syracuse University Libraries' collection, a request could be submitted via SU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form. SU Libraries will request the item on your behalf. Articles and book chapters are typically sent to your SU email within 1-2 business days.