Audiovisual and Image Sources - WRT 205: Research Starting Points Guide [Instructor, Amy Murphy - Spring 2023] - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Photojournalism, Image, and Audio Resources

- AP Newsroom
  Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists. Copyright Note: Do not redistribute these images nor re-use them beyond classroom related purposes -in other publications or on open websites or social media channels - without direct permissions and rights clearance from Associated Press.

- PressReader
  Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Many titles are available here on a rolling 90 day basis, with back issues for some selected titles reaching back several years

- Flickr.com
  One of the largest online photo-sharing communities. Provides searchable access to photos from the general public as well as institutional collections in the flickr commons.

See also these guides from Syracuse University Libraries:

This guide from Carnegie Mellon University also pulls together a lot of useful image resources, including some collections that are open access for academic use https://guides.library.cmu.edu/vr/image_collections_list

Sources for Images You Can Use in Public Assignments

In order to make ethical use of images in your online work, it's best to choose images from sources for which permission has been granted for non-commercial uses. Below are some great resources for images in the public domain, available under creative commons licenses, and other acceptable licences.

Streaming Video Collections

ArtFilms Digital
Films, documentaries, masterclasses, and interviews for arts education and practitioners.
Digital Theatre Plus
If using Chrome, please download the latest version to ensure video playback. Streaming video collection of theatre, dance, musical theatre, opera, and film productions in many genres, as well as interviews and notes by practitioners about production, technique, lighting, design and more; includes content from provider such as the, BBC, Broadway HD, LA Theatre Works, and Royal Shakespeare Company.
Medici.tv
Streaming video of performances and documentaries, including concerts, operas, ballets, and master classes by numerous performers, composers, and companies.
Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming Service
Media art from early works to present, as well as biographical information about artists, essays, and information about the media artworks, from Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI).
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
Academic Video Online
Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming video titles, including feature films, on a variety of subjects, historic and current, from a number of production companies.
Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)
Films on Demand
Selected titles from the Films on Demand collection.