Research Guides: Grey Literature: Databases at SU Libraries

Education / Health / Social Sciences

ERIC (EBSCO)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.

-----

MEDLINE
Index to journals in all areas of medicine, including nutrition, dentistry, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, health administration, nursing and more.
PubMed
MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.

------

PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.

Government and Policy

Digital National Security Archive
Declassified government documents from 1945 to present.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Journals on environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Provided by NOVELNY.
EPA Publications Search
Search Environmental Protection Agency publications across all of their web sites.
GuideStar Pro
Information about U.S. nonprofit organizations from Internal Revenue Service Form 990 financial statements and the organizations themselves.
Homeland Security Digital Library
U.S. policy documents and directives, covering national security. Also includes reports from universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
IMF eLibrary
International Monetary Fund (IMF) library of publications, including reports, articles, working papers, books, and data sets covering global economics, trade, and finance by country and industry.
INDSTAT4
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) data on manufacturing in 135 countries from 1985 - 2016.
National Bureau of Economic Research: NBER
Index of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research.
NCJRS
Index to U.S. and international research reports, papers, articles and more covering law enforcement, courts, the criminal justice system, corrections, and more, from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
OECD iLibrary
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Policy Commons
Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, local governments, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations. Includes the modules North American City Reports, Global Think Tanks, World Cities, and World Governments.
POLITICO Pro
Policy news covering agriculture, budget and appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, energy, health, labor, employment, taxes, technology, trade, and transportation.
ProQuest Congressional
Publications related to or from the United State Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse : TRAC
Reports focused on the activities of enforcement agencies of the Federal government, such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, from the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC).
Westlaw Campus Research
Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources.

Science and Engineering

ASME Digital Collection
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) journals, covering mechanical engineering research.
Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory technical reports
Technical report series published by the CalTech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory beginning in 1970.
Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Journals on environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Provided by NOVELNY.
EPA Publications Search
Search Environmental Protection Agency publications across all of their web sites.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS.
Information technology reports covering subjects such as infrastructure, security, telecommunications, enterprise systems, vendors, and healthcare and government IT.
GeoRef
Index to the geoscience literature, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
INIS (International Nuclear Information System)
International Nuclear Information System database of scientific and technical literature covering nuclear engineering, energy, geosciences, and more.
inSPIRE
Index to high energy physics-related journal articles, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses.
NTRL - National Technical Reports Library
The NTRL database offers free public access to approximately 2.8 million federal science and technology reports from the NTIS bibliographic database. Of those reports, 850,000 are freely downloadable in full-text after you complete the free registration process. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964 and most records include abstracts.
Free unregistered access is limited to a single BASIC search box. Users can register for free by creating their own username and password to access full-text documents.
NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
Database of NASA technical reports, conference papers, articles, patents, and more, including content from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA Collection) from the early 1900s to 1958, NASA Collection, from 1958, and Nasa Image eXchange (NIX) Collection.
Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Reports Server
Index, abstracts, and full text of Technical Reports written by and for the scientific and technical community.
ProQuest Science and Technology
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in agriculture, life science, environmental science, computer science, engineering, military science, telecommunications, and materials science.
SAE International
Information from the Society of Automotive Engineers about standards development, and technical information and land, sea, air and space vehicle design/
Science.gov
Databases of scientific research publications from numerous sites, including the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
SciTech Connect
OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database of energy related scientific reports, conference papers, articles, books, patents in numerous fields including chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, math, and more, from 1948-present.
TechStreet
FileOpen is required to view PDFs. To install the plugin, click on Help (upper right) then Install FileOpen.
Publications of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers, including Standards, Guidelines, Handbook, ASHRAE Journal and ASHRAE Transactions.
USDA Forest Service (USDA/FS Research Publications Database)
Publications of the United States Department of Agriculture's Forest Service covering ecology, geology, environmental science, and more .

Business

ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
BizMiner
Industry and market analysis reports, covering national and local markets.
Business Insights
Articles about business, company histories and profiles, financial and industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.
GuideStar Pro
Information about U.S. nonprofit organizations from Internal Revenue Service Form 990 financial statements and the organizations themselves.
IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
MarketLine
Company, country, industry and product -related reports, analysis, news and case studies .
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports covering services, demographics, the food and beverage industry, medical and health care industry, technology and media and more.
Mergent Archives
Moody's/Mergent Corporate and Municipal Manuals, D&B Key Business Ratios, and the Mergent Historical SEC Collection.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
Mergent Online
Financial information about public companies, including EDGAR (SEC) filings, US Company Data Direct, and International Company Data Direct.
Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
National Bureau of Economic Research: NBER
Index of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
ProQuest Business
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including ABI/INFORM, Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection, Asian and European Business Collection, EconLit‎, and others.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Annual reports on U.S. companies.
Richard K. Miller and Associates Publications
Richard K. Miller and Associates consumer and market research reports on entertainment, food, health care, leisure, sports, and more.
SAGE Business Cases
Case studies related to business integrated with SAGE’s journal, book, video, and reference content. To access the teaching notes (available only to instructors), please request the instructor code from Brenna Helmstutler at bhelmstu@syr.edu.
SBRnet (Sports Market Analytics)
News and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing. Includes access to the Brand Share Index (BSI) which matches fan market consumer behavior with their preferences for consumer products brands.
Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

Grey Literature: Databases at SU Libraries

Sources at SU

Education / Health / Social Sciences

Government and Policy

Science and Engineering

Business