WRT 205: Research Starting Points Guide [Instructor, Cynthia Pope - Spring 2023]

Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.

Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).

Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Journal articles and book chapters covering science, technology, and medical fields; includes links to external datasets, and chemical reactions data from Reaxys.

Trade, professional and technical society journals and magazines, covering applied sciences, computing, engineering and more from 1983 to present.

Nursing and allied health journals and publications. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Provided by NOVELNY.

Provides full text journal titles in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. All former Kluwer Academic journals are available on SpringerLink.

Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.

Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards

MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.

Journals and magazines covering anthropology, gender studies, sociology, and women’s studies. Provided by NOVELNY.

Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.

Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.

Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.

Well know progressive opinion journal. Searchable page image archive of The Nation magazine going back to its first issue in 1865. Includes articles as well as reviews, letters, poems, and puzzles.

Well known conservative opinion journal. Searchable page image archive of the National Review magazine from 1955 to the present.

To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.

Peer-reviewed journal of scientific work published in video format, allowing for visual demonstration of techniques and procedures.

Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals, from 1970 to present; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Index to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines, from 1991 to present.

WRT 205 students may be particularly interested in browsing (or searching within) the science and technology related categories of the sections of this news database called "special topics" [STEM, Technology, Environmental Studies] or "hot topics" [Science, Technology and Health]
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.

Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.

While also containing vast collections of references to current and historical U.S. laws, legislative histories, and hearing transcripts as well as bills pending before Congress, WRT 205 students may sometimes be particularly interested in limiting search results here to reports from the CRS, Congressional Research Service. If one is located relevant to a topic of inquiry, CRS reports can often provide excellent in-depth background discussion, including public policy perspectives
Publications related to or from the United States Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.