Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
This guide was created to help you find sources for your research project annotated bibliography. To the right, you will find databases which will point you toward the scholarly sources in books and journals that you need to locate, but also includes a variety of other sources. As you topics are rooted in your own experiences and interests, some of these may be more helpful to you than others. Feel free to reach out to Patrick (details below) if you are not finding the types of sources you hoped to!
The reference sources below may also be helpful for locating keywords and broader topics to explore.
Get help from Patrick
Have questions? Need help? Ask your subject specialist, Patrick Williams.
Recommended Databases to Begin Your Research
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature in fields including literature, history, popular culture, sociology, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the United Kingdom (UK) and English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles, books and more covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Periodicals Archive Online, Humanities Index, American Periodicals 174-1940, digital National Security Archive, and others.
ProQuest Health and Medicine
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Sports Medicine and Education Index, Public Health Database, Healthcare Administration Database, and others.
Political Science Database
Journals in political science and international relations.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular performing arts journals and magazines, conference papers, covering the arts and entertainment industry, dance, film, television, drama, theater, musical theater, storytelling, opera, puppetry, magic and more; includes interviews, discographies, and reviews.
Music Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.
ATLA Religion Database
Journal articles, reviews, and essays covering religion and theology, compiled by the American Theological Library Association.
Book History Related Sources
Books & ebooks
Search books & ebooks (full text)... this is the *big* search engine.
Locate only books & ebooks by title, author, or subject (not full text).
Generating Good Citations
Make sure to grab citations for your sources as you are searching! Most databases will produce & send you formatted citations you can use on your bibliography.
In SUMMON, look for the quotation marks icon to the right of your item and choose MLA as your format.
In databases like ProQuest and JSTOR look for the options to save, email, or cite near the top of an article's page.
Make sure to check your citations by the OWL MLA formatting guidelines to ensure you have what you need!