Research Guides: HOM 166 Understanding Music 2 (Spring 2022): Finding Research Resources

Databases: Find Articles and Reviews

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) Abstracts of Music Literature providing comprehensive coverage of music-related literature and research published in journals, books, conference proceedings, and more.
Music Index
Index to publications covering music, musicians, and the music industry.
Music Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Additional Scholarly Databases in Related Fields

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
ProQuest Arts
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in design, film, art, music, theater, and humanities.
AnthroSource
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular performing arts journals and magazines, conference papers, covering the arts and entertainment industry, dance, film, television, drama, theater, musical theater, storytelling, opera, puppetry, magic and more; includes interviews, discographies, and reviews.

Alexander Street Music and Performing Arts
The Smithsonian Global Sound collection is particularly pertinent to this assignment.

Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Produced in conjunction with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, this collection includes audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera collected between 1905 and 2019.

Music DH
On this website, you can browse or search an open-source bibliography of specialized digital resources and born-digital scholarship in music. Here you may tour the world of digital humanities in music, loosely interpreted. The entries in this directory were compiled over a period of three years: 2018-2021.
British Sound Archive: World and traditional music
British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
more...less...
This collection contains recordings of world and traditional music organized by geographical area.
World Music Textbook
The World Music Textbook is comprised of “chapters.” These are prepared by scholars, musicians, and others and they go through a blind peer review process. They may be short essays, videos, interactive sites, or they may be in other formats entirely. In addition to these chapters, the resources page lists many other useful sites from across the internet.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Free web index; citations only
more...less...
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable.

Music Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

315/443-4692

Subjects: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility, Music, Performing Arts