Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, Themes by
Eight years in the making, Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes is the definitive work on the topic, providing an unparalleled resource for students and scholars of music, Latino culture, Hispanic civilization, popular culture, and Latin American countries. Comprising work from nearly 50 contributors from Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the United States, this two-volume work showcases how Latin music--regardless of its specific form or cultural origins--is the passionate expression of a people in constant dialogue with the world. The entries in this expansive encyclopedia range over topics as diverse as musical instruments, record cover art, festivals and celebrations, the institution of slavery, feminism, and patriotism. The music, traditions, and history of more than two dozen countries--such as Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Spain, and Venezuela--are detailed, allowing readers to see past common stereotypes and appreciate the many different forms of this broadly defined art form.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by
This comprehensive survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular-as opposed to folk or art-music and containing more than 200 entries on the concepts and terminology, ensembles, and instruments that the genre comprises. * Roughly 200 entries on concepts and terminology, ensembles, genres, and instruments * 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers * A chronology for Latin American popular music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online by 
Bloomsbury (Continuum) Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Diccionario de la Música Española e Hispanoamericana by 
Afro-Brazilian Music: A Bibliographic Guide by
The impact of Afro-Brazilian culture, both inside of Brazil and abroad, has been immense, particularly in the area of popular culture. Audiences around the world are familiar with it through the work of popularizers such as Carmen Miranda or films such as the 1959 classic Black Orpheus. However a much richer and more complex story lies behind these popular images, one that spans from the long slave trade that flourished in Brazil between 1538 and the 1850s to the more recent rise of urban black and cultural nationalist movements of the 1970s and beyond.
This less well-known history is the subject of John Gray's latest bibliography. While primarily about music the literature it documents reflects on all aspects of black life and culture in Brazil from language and religion to gender relations and race.
Its central focus is four distinct but intertwined categories of black vernacular culture¿secular and Afro-Catholic festivals such as Carnival, bumba-meu-boi, and Folia de Reis, each of which has music and dance as a central component; the music, dances and ensembles associated with them, e.g. the afoxés and blocos afro of Bahian Carnival; folk and popular music idioms from jongo and capoeira to samba, rap and funk; and the liturgical musics of Afro-Brazilian religions, e.g. Candomblé, Umbanda, Xango.
Of particular note are Afro-Brazilian Music's extensive Regional Studies section which covers developments in 21 of the country's 26 states and a chapter on Biographical and Critical Studies which documents the careers of more than 500 individual artists and ensembles.
Citations span from 1833 to 2012, with the bulk having been published between the 1930s and 2012. They encompass folklore studies, ethnographies, oral histories, popular histories and reportage along with a wealth of academic material from Brazil, North America and Europe.
The work concludes with an extensive reference section offering lists of Sources Consulted, a guide to relevant Libraries and Archives, an Appendix listing artists and individuals by idiom/occupation, and separate Author and Subject Indexes.
Jamaican Popular Music, from Mento to Dancehall Reggae: a Bibliographic Guide by
Despite its global popularity, reggae, and the myriad Jamaican popular music forms which led up to it creation, has long lacked a bibliographic resource that could assist its legion of fans, students and scholars. Until now.
Based on 15 years of research Jamaican Popular Music offers nearly 3700 entries on the evolution of the island⿿s commercial music scene from the calypso-like mento of the late-1940s and ⿿50s to the roots reggae revolution of the 1970s and the dancehall boom of the 1980s and beyond. It also provides in-depth coverage of the music⿿s diffusion to more than 51 countries abroad along with a biographical section documenting the careers of some 800 individual artists, producers, dancers, filmmakers, and others. Sources range from fanzine interviews and newspaper reportage to scholarly theses and journal articles published in Jamaica, Australia, Asia, Europe, Africa, and North and South America. Much of this material is cited here for the first time based on the author⿿s analytic indexing of some 150 arts, music, humanities and social science journals.
The result is a ground-breaking effort offering insights into all facets of the local, regional and transnational impact of Jamaican popular music.
