ADV 523: Digital Branding and Strategy (Spring 2022)

SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising in the ADV 523 course.  Explore the linked  sections of this guide for leading examples of these tools. [course sections for Spring 2022 being taught by faculty members Brian Sheehan, Daniela Molta, and Mindy Stockfield]

Users of MRI University Reporter database:  The consumer survey data in that MRI interface migrated as of June 2021 into the MRI-Simmons database platform, and folded itself nto the search feature within Simmons called "Brand Catalyst."  Contact Newhouse Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni [mjpasqua@syr.edu || (315) 443-3715] with any related questions about those databases.

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more.  The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews.  Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis.  Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year.   Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

Television Bureau of Advertising
Non profit trade association for the U.S. broadcasting industry.

4As ("American Association of Advertising Agencies") - Ad Agency Search Engine

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "Zotero" or "Mendeley,"  Visit SU Library's Citation Support website.

This PDF document lists media directories and other sources that may help any Newhouse student looking to explore leads for career planning purposes and related industry research into companies and job markets.  Be sure to also visit Newhouse's Tina Press and David Rubin Career Development Center.