Research Guides: Wellness Guide: Mind/Spirit

SU Services at the Barnes Center & Wellness Initiative

All Barnes Center Services with a few highlighted below:

Counseling Includes crisis counseling, couple enrichment sessions, individual therapy, group therapy, and other support Services.
BeWise Health Hubs & Programming
Crowley Family MindSpa for students, faculty and staff to practice mindfulness and other guided relaxation techniques independently in a private, safe and accessible environment. Each Crowley Family MindSpa room is filled with tools to help you relax. Spend some time with the light therapy box, practice meditating, utilize biofeedback tools or play with items designed to help you de-stress.
Sanvello App Through a partnership with Sanvello (formerly Pacifica), Syracuse students, faculty and staff have free premium access to the number one mobile app for stress, anxiety and depression management. Based on cognitive behavioral therapy and mindfulness meditation, Sanvello provides daily tools to help manage mental health.
Living With Worry and Anxiety Amidst Global Uncertainty Guide Our world is changing rapidly at the moment. Given some of the news coverage, it would be hard not to worry about what it all means for yourself, and for those you love. Worry and anxiety are common problems at the best of times, and when it takes over it can become all-encompassing. A free guide available in multiple languages from Psychology Tools will help you to manage your worry and anxiety in these uncertain times.
Pet Therapy Join us in the Walters Pet Therapy Room to de-stress and enjoy a pet’s company.
Meditation Although there are several classes and group therapy workshops held in the Meditation Room, members of the campus community are free to use the room during open meditation hours for their personal practice

Wellness Initiative & Carebridge full list of resources with highlights below:

Hendricks Chapel

Hendricks Chapel
Hendricks Chapel hosts 9 chaplaincies across four world religions, including Buddhism, Christianity, Judaism and Islam. Chaplaincies nurture the spiritual/ethical lives of students, faculty, and staff, and help them learn to listen to those who believe differently.

Bird Watching: Local Birds of Prey

SU is home to several Red-tailed Hawks. Take a walk around campus or watch them virtually!

Check out our the Bald Eagles who have returned to Onondaga Lake!

Red-tailed Hawk Family
Nest cam, Red-Tailed Hawk Tales Facebook page and more!
Bald Eagles at Onondaga Lake
Wintering Bald Eagles have returned to Onondaga Lake!

SU Libraries' resources

Light reading

This is just a sampling of fiction in our collection. Search the catalog or browse in the stacks at the call number locations listed by clicking on the links to find more.

Popular Magazines

Here are just a few titles in our collection:

For other titles, use our Journal locator

Just for fun!

Board Games - check 'em out! Just a sampling from our collection; search our catalog for something specific or ask at Bird's 3rd floor service desk
Puzzles

Movies, Theater, Opera, and more!

Make some popcorn, invite a few folks over in your COVID bubble and have a night on the library!

Recommendations: Documentaries to lift your spirits! Recommendations from our resident film expert, Michael Pasqualoni Librarian for the Newhouse School of Public Communications. These will be sure to please!

Kanopy To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Medici.tv Streaming video of performances and documentaries, including concerts, operas, ballets, and master classes by numerous performers, composers, and companies.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access HD videos of Metropolitan Opera performances, including telecasts from 1970 through 2000, and including radio broadcasts from 1936.

Music - streaming collections

Naxos Music Library Limited to fifteen (15) simultaneous users. Streaming audio of Western art music/classical music. Includes Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues, among other record labels, as well as details about works, and a glossary.
Naxos Music Library Jazz Limited to five (5) simultaneous users. Streaming audio of jazz recordings from the Naxos label as well as Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, and Fantasy Jazz, among other record labels.

Connect with Local Culture

Local Museums & Theaters

Syracuse Museums
Saunter downtown and enjoy museums like the Onondaga Historical Association, Ska Nonh Great Law of Peace Center, Erie Canal Museum, The Everson, The MOST, and more!
Syracuse Stage
Syracuse Stage is Central New York’s premier professional theatre offers virtual classes/workshops, 100 Conversations for Change Now, Poetry & Play, Cold Read Shorts, and more.

Art Parks

Lipe Art Park
Formally an abandoned train yard, Lipe Art Park is located along West Fayette Street in the Warehouse District of Syracuse, New York and is now the city’s first art park and public green space open to the community.
Stone Quarry Hill Art Park
A wonderful outside Art Park located in Cazenovia, NY
Art Oneida
Part of the New York Heritage digital collections, virtually travel across sections of Oneida county to see local public art

Music & Dance

Jacob's Pillow
Visit their virtual archives as well as their newest playlists that pay tribute to Marge Champion
CNY Jazz Virtual Programming
Presenting jazz as an art form using the finest local, regional, and national artists available.
SU Setnor School of Music
Student recital series, music lecture series, concerts, and more!