VIS 439/ VIS 639 Visual Communications: Advanced Projects (Fall 2020)

eBooks can be discovered by entering search queries into the advanced Summon search page.

• Remember to apply content type search result refinements such as - "book/ebook" and also "book chapter"
• To limit what you see exclusively to eBooks, click the search result limit option labeled "items with full text online"
• Also explore other non-book content type categories (e.g., articles, images, video. manuscripts and archival materials, etc.)

When entering general genre or topic or subiect related queries into SUMMON, additional search result refinement categories to pay attention to at the left margin of Summon search results, include:

• Content Type
• Publication Date (e.g., do you seek a specific date range OR do you wish to sort your results in ascending or descending chronological order?)
• Subject Terms (e.g., photography, photographers, photojournalism, motion pictures, etc.)
• Area of Study (e.g., visual arts, journalism & communications, film, etc.)
• Language
• Library Location

If you prefer to explore specific large eBook databases individually, here is a list of SU Libraries eBook collections

Circulating books in photography (physical volumes - regular and oversize) reside primarily at Carnegie Library [Library of Congress call numbers that begin with "TR."]  Also primarily on the 5th floor are book titles covering mass media, television, radio, theatre & film criticism.  Titles with a focus on art criticism, music/music criticism and architectural criticism are on Bird Library's 4th Floor.  Use basic and advanced searches in the SU Libraries Classic Catalog or SUMMON search engine to determine specific titles and locations of interest.

• Your SU ID Card is your library card
• SU graduate students have a borrowing period of one year, and most items can be renewed by clicking on "Your Accounts" at top margin of the SU Libraries website.

• SUMMON:  A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries' collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries.  Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more.  Use for searching for articles.  Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.
• Classic Catalog:  A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.  Search by keyword, author, title, subject heading, or call number.

Physical Book Locations

URL for the “Locations of Library Materials” handout https://library.syr.edu/locations/documents/call-number-directory.pdf

• TR is the Library of Congress call number prefix for books in Photography (Carnegie Library) || N is the prefix for books in Architecture and Fine Arts (Floors 4 and 5, Bird Library) || NC -drawing, design and illustration is Floor 5
• Full Library of Congress Classification Outline - https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
• Outline of TR call numbers - https://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco/lcco_t.pdf

• Outline of N call numbers - https://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco/lcco_n.pdf
  • For Fall 2020 visit https://library.syr.edu for COVID_19 related access policies for physical library collections
  • When time and policies permit -  I certainly encourage VIS 439/639 students located near the SU hill  to stroll over to Carnegie Library – (Carnegie was originally opened on Sept 11, 1907) and consider book titles with TR call numbers and also OVERSIZE TR call numbers – and to ask any of the friendly staff at that service desk for directional guidance to any non-circulating reference book titles in Photography
    *A notable exception, serving primarily advertising faculty and students, are sets of post 1950 Art Directors Club and One Show awards volumes the library keep on these non-circulating reference shelves at Bird Library
    "One Show" (call number:  NC 1001.5 O53) and "Art Directors Club" (call numbers: NC 997 A1 A69 || NC 997 A1 A692) – 2^nd Floor Bird Library/these do not circulate (pre 1950 volumes are in off-site storage)

WorldCat  A tool for identifying books and other items on advertising, branding, interactive marketing, etc. available at libraries other than Syracuse University Libraries.  Sorts search results by information format/physical type, thus one can readily identify “books,” “visual material (Video/DVD),” “archival material,” etc.  Books can usually be delivered to SU via interlibrary loan.  Other audiovisual and archival material may require physical travel to view the items and/or the libraries in question may offer fee-based duplication/delivery services.)