VIS 544: Fashion and Portraiture (Fall 2020)

SU Libraries offers valuable research tools and sources designed to assist students researching within visual communications.  See this guide's menu bar for links to starting points.  Seek out a librarian for advice or an appointment when you require further guidance.  For students in VIS 544, this guide offers far more starting points and database options than one researcher may need, but choose wisely based on your specific information need connected to topics you are exploring, or visually oriented formats of information you seek.  See especially, image and video and art and design databases on the subpage of this guide for "databases," as well as extensive runs of page imaged magazines on the subpage for periodicals (e.g., the full and continuing page imaged access to every Vogue Magazine issue ever published, 19th century through the present).  On the databases subpage, some students may also be interested in U.S. and international page imaged magazine and newspaper content in the database called PressReader.

Checkout the many historical campus life and building images drawn from SU Archives Photograph Collection, part of the Library's Special Collections Research Center Sept 1, 2020 blog post by Reference Assistant, Isabel McCullough, entitled, Adjusting the Lens || More widely speaking, see SU Libraries Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) blog for other examples of inspiring primary sources drawn from SCRC's collection of images, audiovisual sources, recorded sound, and numerous other manuscripts, books, and physical objects

New York Times Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries: Access available to all current Syracuse University NETID holders, with @syr.edu email addresses

Provides access to:

• New York Times content from 1851 to present, from the print and digital editions
• Digital journalism that includes videos, podcasts, interactive media and more, from mid-1990s to present
• Page image print edition content:
  • via the Times Machine from 1851-2002
    • Note: PDF viewing/downloading of Times Machine content from 1923-1980 is limited to 5 per day
    • Via New York Times app for 7 days
    • If seeking article text and page imaged print edition New York Times back issues only, these are also available via the library's subscription to ProQuest News & Newspapers (including print editions beyond the end date of coverage by the Times Machine)

    Does not provide access to:

    • Crossword Puzzles
       
    • Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only, and will expire after four years for current faculty and staff.  Student accounts expire in December of the anticipated graduation year entered when registering for an account.

To register for a New York Times Digital Edition account:

1. Go to this registration page, and if off-campus, log in to the EZProxy page with your NetID.
2. Click:  Create Account
3. Create a New York Times account using your @syr.edu address and a password of your choice. Do not use your NetID login/password. Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only. If you register as a student, enter your graduation year.
4. After registering, you can access the New York Times directly (without going through the SU Libraries site) by going to nytimes.com or connecting via mobile app, if enabled.
5. Please note the New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.
6. If you are having problems registering or accessing your account subsequently, see troubleshooting instructions on this guide for "renewing an existing registration" OR submit the problem using the library's Electronic Resource Problem Report form OR contact Newhouse School Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni (315) 443-3715.
7. (new as of 2021)  Access will expire after four years for faculty and staff, and in December of the stated graduation year for students.
   • New York Times does not email faculty, students, or staff with reminders about account expiration dates.
   • Access does not apply to Alumni
   • This university access is digital only and does not include print editions available to personal NYT subscribers
   • Personal subscriptions for readers who desire print delivery can continue, but cannot ALSO use an @syr.edu email address for those accounts
8. Continuing students with a change of graduation year should follow up directly with the New York Times to extend access.  Students should contact customer support for academic subscribers at edu@nytimes.com OR use the general New York Times Contact Us page [and phone or email options listed under the heading for general contact channels].

Additional information: The New York Times in Education site provides information about educational resources available to account holders.

Already have a personal account:  It is not possible to use the same @syr.edu email address for both a personal and a Syracuse University Libraries digital New York Times account.  Call NYT's Customer Service Department at 800-698-4637 to cancel a paid account that uses an @syr.edu email address, before registering for NYTimes.com access through SU's campus-wide site license. Visit NYT's contact us website to see additional options for contacting NYT regarding personal accounts.

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management system-like "Mendeley " or "Zotero?"  Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.

For stylistic guidelines for journalists particularly -SU Libraries also offers from Associated Press the:

Visit https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/ for additional librarian created research guides in various disciplines.  Guides gather together relevant starting points considerations, links to discipline or content type specific databases and related recommendations

For example, VIS 544 students can consider also visiting any one or more of these guides 

• Photography
• Art Resources
• Newspaper Databases
• Newhouse School - General Guide
• Arts Journalism

..Starting points on this main VIS 544 guide should be sufficient for most, but visit these other guides if desired (there will be duplication of some leading best bet databases on several of these guides).