Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Learn! at Syracuse University Libraries: Fall 2022 Workshops

Guide to Syracuse University Libraries research workshop series.

Faculty and T.A. Teaching Support

Faculty and T.A. Teaching Support, Led by Ronald Figueroa (rfiguero@syr.edu), Michael Pasqualoni (mjpasqua@syr.edu), and John Stawarz (jdstawar@syr.edu)

Description: Whether you're a new teaching assistant or a long-established faculty member, Syracuse University Libraries offer a wide variety of services and resources to support your instruction and improve your students’ learning experiences. This workshop will discuss putting items on course reserve, exploring digital resources such as ebooks from our collections, showing videos in class, supporting students with videos and tutorials about the research process, collaborating with librarians for library instruction sessions, and sharing permalinks to online library resources. We will respond to questions and concerns during this session.

Intended Audience: Faculty, Teaching Assistants

Date and Time:

  • Friday, September, 9 1:00-2:00pm (online) The workshop will be recorded, so if you cannot attend but would like a recording, register and we will send you a link to watch later.

Link to a recording of an event

Money for your Research

Money for your Research

Need money for your research? Come grab dinner and join members of the Center for Scholarship and Fellowship Advising and the Office of Research to learn about SU’s resources for identifying funding opportunities. Bring your laptops and keywords in mind to describe your project needs (the who, what, why and how), and leave with navigation tips and potential opportunities.

Food will be provided. The Fall 2022 Graduate Research Roundtable Series is co-sponsored by the Syracuse University Libraries and SU GSO.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students

Date and Time: 

  • Tuesday, September 13, 5-6:30 PM, Bird Library, Peter Graham Room

Register Here:

https://syr.libwizard.com/f/gsoresearchroundtablefall2022_researchfunding

Digital Humanities Workshop: Introduction to Text Mining with the HathiTrust Research Center

Digital Humanities Workshop: Introduction to Text Mining with the HathiTrust Research Center, Led by Patrick Williams

Description: Patrick Williams (Humanities Librarian and Lead Librarian for Digital and Open Scholarship) and Rachel Hogan (iSchool Graduate Student) will present an Introduction to Text Mining with the HathiTrust Research Center, a hands-on workshop. Rachel and Patrick will present an overview of text mining & HathiTrust in general and will focus on the ways we can make use of the HathiTrust Research Center to undertake our own experiments. No programming experience is necessary. Participants will learn to create their own research collections and perform text analysis activities like creating token counts and tag clouds, extracting and visualizing named entities, and exploring topic modeling approaches.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students

Date and Time:

  • Thursday, September 22, 2-4pm, Bird Library Room 046 (lower level)

Registration Link

Saving and Citing Your Sources: An Introduction to Zotero

Saving and Citing Your Sources: An Introduction to Zotero, Led by Winn Wasson

Description: This introduction will provide an overview of Zotero, a free platform that allows students and researchers to save and annotate sources, collaborate with classmates and colleagues, generate citations and bibliographies in papers, and access references from anywhere. Students and researchers of all experience levels are encouraged to attend and ask questions.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff

Date and Time:

  • Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 12:00noon-1:00pm via Zoom

Registration Link

Escape the Library: Scott Joplin's Lost Opera

Escape the Library: Scott Joplin's Lost Opera, Led by Amanda Du Bose

Description: The "King of Ragtime," Scott Joplin is well known for "Maple Leaf Rag" and "The Entertainer", but did you know that he wrote not one, but two jazz operas? The second, Treemonisha, survives to this day but when Joplin's producer ran off with the cash box before opening night of his first opera the score was taken as collateral by an angry innkeeper. Some say it was lost in St. Louis, some say in Kansas, but tonight you'll try to find it here in Bird Library! Be quick, test your library skills to rescue it and escape before it is lost forever. You'll follow clues and explore the library in teams of up to 5, music knowledge is not required, but Setnor students can earn concert credit for this event!

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students 

Date and Time:

  • Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 6:00-9:30 PM, Bird Library Lower Level (046)
  • Thursday, October 20, 2022, 6:00-9:30 PM Bird Library Lower Level (046)

Registration Link

Misappropriation or Misrepresentation of Your Research, Strategies for Facing a Growing and Problematic Trend

Misappropriation or Misrepresentation of Your Research, Strategies for Facing a Growing and Problematic Trend, Led by Winn Wasson

Description: The good news is that your research got published. The bad news is that a group you have never heard of is now misappropriating or misrepresenting it to push an agenda that neither you nor actual research conclusions support. This workshop aims to help you prepare for how to handle these situations should they arise.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Faculty

Date and Time:

  • Wednesday, November 2, 2022, 5:00pm-6:15pm (zoom)
  • Monday, November 7, 2022, 12:15pm-1:30pm (zoom)

Registration Link

Money for your Research

What to Expect Post Graduation with an MFA Degree

Panelists from VPA will discuss best practices for students with an MFA degree to find work as an artist, in academia or in other areas. They will discuss how they learned to navigate the highly competitive market and will discuss what guidance they received from their faculty, university, or library before they graduated. The panelists will share their experiences, challenges, and success stories, with question-and-answer opportunities from the attendees.

Dinner will be provided.

Hosted by Syracuse University Libraries and the Graduate Student Organization (GSO)

Intended Audience: Graduate Students

Date and Time: 

  • Thursday November 10, 5-7PM, Bird Library, Peter Graham Room

Register Here:

https://syr.libwizard.com/f/gsoresearchroundtablefall2022_mfagrads 

Introduction to ProQuest Text & Data Mining (TDM) Visualization Tools

Introduction to ProQuest Text & Data Mining (TDM) Visualization Tools, Led by the Digital & Open Scholarship Team

Description: In this online workshop, librarians from the Syracuse University Libraries' Digital & Open Scholarship Team and representatives from ProQuest Text & Data Mining (TDM) will introduce participants to some of the features of our TDM Visualization tool, which allows for geographical and topic-based analysis of full-text materials housed in our ProQuest resources. No programming experience is necessary for this introduction to ProQuest's easy-to-use graphical platform for TDM, and this introduction is meant for anyone interested in TDM, including beginners.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff

Date and Time:

  • Friday, September 30, 2022 10:00-11:30am (online)

Registration Link  Registrations are closed.

Meet Mendeley and Zotero

Meet Mendeley and Zotero, Led by Juan Denzer and Winn Wasson

Description: Join librarians Winn Wasson and Juan Denzer for a virtual hands-on introduction to using Mendeley and Zotero citation management software to organize citations in your academic writing.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students

Date and Time:

  • Monday, October 3, 2022, 5:30-7:00pm (online)

Register Here:

https://syr.libwizard.com/f/gsoresearchroundtablefall2022_menzo

Zoom Link Here:

https://syracuseuniversity.zoom.us/j/97531854425?pwd=cW1VbzhIVERjNkdTL2doaXpIMTQzdz09

 

Library Collections Up Close: Oxford Bibliographies

Library Collections Up Close: Oxford Bibliographies

Intended Audience: Graduate Students

Date and Time:

  • Wednesday, October 5, 5:00-6:30pm, Bird Library, Peter Graham Room

Register Here:

https://syr.libwizard.com/f/gsoresearchroundtablefall2022_oxbib

For any questions and further information, please contact Giovanna Colosi at grcolosi@syr.edu

Using SU Libraries as an Online or Distance Student

Using SU Libraries as an Online or Distance Student, Led by Juan Denzer and John Stawarz

Description: Even though you might be an online or distance student and you can’t visit Syracuse University Libraries in person, we’re here to support you throughout your learning journey. This workshop will introduce a wide range of the critical resources and services often used by online and distance students, including how to use our 24-hour online chat support, access ebooks, request materials (including journal articles and book chapters) through interlibrary loan, explore the research process though online tutorials, and get research assistance though subject librarians and our research guides. We will leave plenty of time to answer any questions you might have about using SU Libraries.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students

Date and Time:

  • Monday, October 3, 2022, 1:00-2:00pm via Zoom

Registration Link

Using the ProQuest Text & Data Mining Workbench for Research Projects

Using the ProQuest Text & Data Mining Workbench for Research Projects, Led by the Digital & Open Scholarship Team

Description: In this online workshop, librarians from the Syracuse University Libraries' Digital & Open Scholarship Team and representatives from ProQuest Text & Data Mining (TDM) will introduce participants to our TDM Workbench tool, which allows for powerful, user-directed text and data analysis of full-text materials housed in our ProQuest subscription resources. While no specific programming experience is required for this workshop, the ProQuest TDM Workbench platform is intended for users with some experience in Python or R. This introductory workshop will help participants to understand what kinds of questions the TDM Workbench tool can aid in exploring and will provide resources for getting started.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff

Date and Time:

  • Monday, October 10, 2022 1:00-2:30pm EST (ONLINE)

Registration Link

Get That Job: Campus Career Services Tips For Graduate Students, Led by Dan Olson-Bang – Director of Professional and Career Development, Syracuse University Graduate School

Get That Job, Led by Dan Olson-Bang, Director of Professional and Career Development, Syracuse University Graduate School

Description: Join this session to increase your awareness of university resources and other concrete advice when seeking full-time or part-time employment in a wide variety of contexts. Food will be provided. The Fall 2022 Graduate Research Roundtable Series is co-sponsored by the Syracuse University Libraries and SU GSO.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students (Doctoral, Masters, Advanced Certificates)

Date and Time:

  • Tuesday, October 25, 5:30-7:00pm, Bird Library, 1st Floor – Peter Graham Scholarly Commons

Register Here:

https://syr.libwizard.com/f/gsoresearchroundtablefall2022_jobs

 

Publishing your Book

Placing Your Book in the Rapidly Changing Academic Publishing Landscape, Led by Dylan Mohr

Description: Dylan Mohr, open scholarship librarian and former assistant editor of “Cultural Critique,” will discuss how open access is driving the changing academic publishing landscape in the humanities. He will lead us through the benefits and drawbacks of making your monograph open access, and you will leave equipped with questions to bring to publishers to help you best decide if open access is right for your work.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Faculty

Date and Time:

  • Wednesday October 19, 2022, 10:00-11:30am via Zoom

Registration Link

Markdown and Stylo, Make Publication Formatting Easy!

Markdown and Stylo, Make Publication Formatting Easy!, Led by Amanda DuBose

Description: Tired of changing the formatting of your paper for every submission? Ditch Word and check out Stylo! Stylo is a semantic text editor developed by the Canada Chair in Digital Textualities that uses Markdown to designate formatting. Semantic tagging, authority aligned metadata, and multi-format export combine to make submitting research in different styles a breeze. Stylo lets you focus on what you're writing instead of what it looks like. Come experience this editor to discover techniques, discuss accessibility functions, explore advanced features, and test edit your own text, no programming experience needed!

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff

Date and Time:

  • Tuesday, November 1, 2022, 2:30-3:30pm via Zoom

Registration Link