Advanced Zotero: How to Virtually Share and Comment on Sources for Teaching, Learning, Research, and Collaboration, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: You have seen how Zotero can help save and cite your sources. Now see how online Zotero accounts can help instructors and students, advisors and advisees, and other collaborators share and comment on sources for course papers and projects and professional research, all without meeting in person. Attendance at one of the introductory Zotero workshops or experience using Zotero is recommended.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty
Date and Time:
Geospatial Data: Where in the World do I Begin?, Led by John Olson
Description: This will be an exploratory discussion and demonstration on where and how to find and download different types of data layers to use in a GIS project. We will explore local, state, regional, federal, and international geospatial nodes, clearinghouses, and repositories for spatial layers and data and what you should know and look out for when you find them.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
"How Do I Know if an Article is Scholarly?" Exploring Different Types of Periodicals, Led by Abby Kasowitz-Scheer
Description: Your instructor requires that you use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources in your research paper. What does that mean? And how do you tell the difference between scholarly and popular sources? This workshop will help you identify the characteristics of different types of periodicals and help you determine which sources might be suitable for your research.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students
Date and Time:
Meet Mendeley, Led by Michael Pasqualoni and Juan Denzer
Description: Join librarians Michael Pasqualoni and Juan Denzer for a virtual hands-on introduction to using Mendeley citation management software to organize citations in your academic writing.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Real News: Jumpstart Your Journalism Research @ SU, Led by Michael Pasqualoni
Description: Join with Newhouse School Librarian Michael Pasqualoni and SU Libraries Information Literacy Scholar, Hanna Seraji, to boost your effectiveness using news and newspaper databases for exploring current or historical journalism, alternative press sources and publications outside the United States. Although not required, students are welcome to bring specific questions about a project or assignment that is in progress.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
The Right Stuff: Evaluating Sources for Your Information Needs, Led by Kelly Delevan
Description: You can find loads of information these days, but how do you really know if it is relevant to your own research? Join Kelly Delevan, Information Literacy Librarian to explore strategies for evaluating sources for your research.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students
Date and Time:
Searching Series: Searching Through Bias, Led by Gigi Swinnerton and Hanna Seraji
Description: Join Gigi Swinnerton (Information Literacy Scholar, G'21) and Hanna Seraji (Information Literacy Scholar, G'22), for a hands-on workshop focusing on the intricate and insidious nature of bias and systemic racism in searching the internet. This workshop will focus on uncovering the basics of "search" with regard to understanding that all information is subject to bias because of the structure of algorithms and human-made information organization systems, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). This workshop will be the introduction to a series in conjunction with other subject librarians who will delve into how these organization systems affect their specific field.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
Technical Writing, Led by Juan Denzer
Description: Introduce three main types of technical writing: traditional, end-user, and technical marketing content. Attendees will learn some of the key attributes that can be applied to all styles of technical writing. The session will also cover some useful writing tools along with some examples of technical writing.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Digital Humanities Workshop: Introduction to Text Mining with the HathiTrust Research Center, Led by Patrick Williams
Description: On Friday, March 12, Patrick Williams (Humanities Librarian and Lead Librarian for Digital and Open Scholarship) and Zhiwei Wang (Masters Student in Data Science and Digital Humanities Graduate Student Employee) will present an Introduction to Text Mining with the HathiTrust Research Center, a hands-on workshop, via Zoom from 10 am to 12 pm. Zhiwei and Patrick will present an overview of text mining & HathiTrust in general and will focus on the ways we can make use of the HathiTrust Research Center to undertake our own experiments. No programming experience is necessary. Participants will learn to create their own research collections and perform text analysis activities like creating token counts and tag clouds, extracting and visualizing named entities, and exploring topic modeling approaches. Limited space is available.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
Go Beyond Google: How to Use Library Resources For Your Fundraising Research, Led by Juan Denzer
Description: Looking to do prospect research? Do you find yourself just using Google? Did you know there are library resources beyond Google? Are you aware that taxpayers have access to the library resources at universities? Learn how to access library resources, which databases to search, and access them. Learn how to get help from librarians. This session will introduce you to tips and guides on how to research and gain access to the same resources that university researchers have on and off-campus.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
Information Literacy: Using Primary Sources, Led by Breeann Austin
Description: This hands-on workshop will focus on helping students analyze and investigate primary sources. A focus will be placed on how to interpret historical documents, possible pitfalls that occur when working with primary sources, and how to use primary sources to represent those usually forgotten within the historical narrative.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Mindful Information Consumption: Habits for Maintaining a Healthy Information Diet, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: The last 12 months have given us a constant stream of disconcerting news and other information. It is important that we are aware of what is going on in the world, but we need to make sure that the information we consume is empowering us rather than overpowering us. Please join us for a workshop on tips and strategies for developing and maintaining a healthy "information diet".
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
Research Starting Points @ SU Libraries, Led by Abby Kasowitz-Scheer
Description: The SU Libraries website is a rich gateway to information resources for your academic research needs. As SU students, you have access to many articles, e-books, and other resources that are not freely available online. This session introduces you to key research tools including Summon, databases, and research guides, and provides some basic searching tips to get you started.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Saving and Citing Your Sources: An Introduction to Zotero, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: This introduction will provide an overview of Zotero, a free platform that allows students and researchers to save and annotate sources, collaborate with classmates and colleagues, generate citations and bibliographies in papers, and access references from anywhere. Students and researchers of all experience levels are encouraged to attend and ask questions.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
So You're Going to Graduate?: Library Resources for Alumni, Led by John Stawarz
Description: Congratulations on your upcoming graduation from Syracuse University! After you graduate, you will have access to many, but not all, of the library resources that you've used and enjoyed. This workshop will highlight the services and resources at SU Libraries that will be available to you as an alum, as well as guide you to free resources beyond SU Libraries that you could also access, such as ebooks, audiobooks, and journal articles.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Students Almost Graduating
Date and Time:
"What Do You Mean, 'Defund the Police'?" An Exploration into Restorative Justice and Sustainable Social Justice Advocacy, Led by Natalie LoRusso
Description: What do restorative justice and budget reallocation look like in real life? How can activists contribute to social justice movements in a practical way? In this workshop, we will identify ways to sustainably contribute to social justice movements on the local and national levels, as well as how to recover from advocacy burnout.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Escape This!, Led by Juan Denzer
Description: Take a break from the semester and Escape with the library. Learn about library resources while you escape our virtual room.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
HCI 101: A Quick Introduction to Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Led by Natalie LoRusso
Description: What could go wrong when a human teams up with a computer to complete a task difficult task? This could be writing a research paper, buying a new car, or conducting a Zoom interview. This workshop provides a broad introduction to the field of human-computer interaction (HCI), and highlights ways that good (and bad) design can impact our daily lives.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Learning Research and Databases with Archive of our Own (AO3), Led by Austin Waters, Lauren Earl, and Alayna Vander Veer
Description: Join Information Literacy Scholars, Alayna Vander Veer, Austin Waters, and Lauren Earl for an engaging and interactive workshop. They will show students how to employ common sense and personal experience with popular databases, such as Archive of Our Own, to encourage and promote students' comfort with scholarly databases. This workshop will demonstrate students already possess the foundational skills they need to be successful scholars and researchers.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
The Public and Your Publications: Strategies for Handling the Misappropriation or Misrepresentation of Your Research, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: The good news is that your research got published. The bad news is that a group you have never heard of is now misappropriating or misrepresenting it to push an agenda that neither you nor actual research conclusions support. This workshop aims to help you prepare for how to handle these situations should they arise.
Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Faculty
Date and Time:
Researcher Profiles, Metrics, and More with the Libraries’ Research Impact Team, Led by Emily Hart, Brenna Helmstutler, Anita Kuiken, Stephanie McReynolds
Description: The Research Impact Team is a newly formed team of librarians in the SU Libraries Department of Research and Scholarship, who work with researchers, students, faculty, and staff, to provide solutions for increasing the attention scholarly works receive and understanding the impact of those works. In this session, you'll learn about ways this team can support you, and get a brief introduction to some of the areas the team frequently provides guidance on, including research metrics, author metrics, research profiles, open access, grant searching, systematic reviews, and more.
Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time:
Searching Series: Delving into Women's & Gender Studies Resources, Led by Gigi Swinnerton and Hanna Seraji
Description: Join Hanna Seraji (Information Literacy Scholar, G'22) and Gigi Swinnerton (Information Literacy Scholar, G'21), for a workshop aiming to parse out pertinent and scholarly resources in the Women's & Gender Studies field. Looking at techniques to enhance searching skills and organize research towards an academic paper or creative writing assignments within the Women's & Gender Studies, this workshop welcomes all those interested to learn more about crafting writing supported by feminist scholars. As part of the "Searching Series," this workshop would offer a palate and starting point for searching for scholarly sources authored by marginalized, BIPOC scholars.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
So, You're New Here?, Led by Giovanna Colosi
Description: Geared towards Graduate students who are new to the area, to get them acquainted with resources both academic in nature and also fun/social in nature in the greater CNY area.
Intended Audience: Graduate Students
Date and Time:
"Where Do I Start?" Researching for Beginners, Narrowing your Topic, Finding Resources, etc., Led by Giovanna Colosi
Description: You are new to researching and not sure where to begin? How do I know where to find sources? Where are reputable sources? Don't fret, come to this beginner's workshop to have all your questions answered!
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Wellness Days Zine Workshop, Led by Courtney Asztalos, Patrick Williams, and Dan Boardman
Description: Take a break to learn about the history of zines (small, do-it-yourself publications) and create your own! Join Courtney Asztalos (SUL Special Collections Research Center), Patrick Williams (SUL Department of Research & Scholarship), and Dan Boardman (Light Work) in an interactive exploration of zine history, making, and collecting, featuring highlights from SCRC's collection of do-it-yourself, small-press creative publications from the past. Participants will be provided with zine kits, featuring supplies and ideas, in advance of the workshop.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff
Date and Time: