Led by Ronald Figueroa, Michael Pasqualoni and John Stawarz
Description: While SU Libraries has always supported teaching and learning at Syracuse University, this workshop offers faculty members, instructors, and teaching assistants several practical ways that SU Libraries can support your teaching during these unpredictable times. Topics include putting items on course reserve, discovering and sharing digital resources such as ebooks in our collections, showing videos in class, supporting students with videos and tutorials about the research process, collaborating with librarians for library instruction sessions, and sharing permalinks to online library resources. We will be happy to respond to your questions and concerns during this session. Recorded 8/26/20.
Resources Discussed in Workshop
Course Reserves & Interlibrary Loan
Showing Videos in Class
Finding Online & Digital Resources
Linking to SU Libraries’ Online Resources
SUL Instructional Services & Resources
Led by: Michael Pasqualoni (Librarian for the Newhouse School) & Lauren Earl (SU Libraries Information Literacy Scholar/SU School of Information Studies)
Description: Sharpen your information retrieval skills working with news and newspaper databases. Recorded 9/8/20.
Resources Discussed in Workshop:
Daily Orange [1963-current]
-In addition to some limited online archival availability via the D.O. website - SU Libraries offers an extensive back issue collection of the Daily Orange in hardcopy and on microfilm. Microfilm back issues are also available under the newspaper's former title "Syracuse Daily Orange" [1903-1963].
Led by: Michael Pasqualoni (Librarian for the Newhouse School) & Lauren Earl (SU Libraries Information Literacy Scholar/SU School of Information Studies)
Description: Sharpen your information retrieval skills working with news and newspaper databases. Recorded 9/23/20.
Resources Discussed in Workshop:
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Digitized, page image access to the Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 newspaper, and cruise-ship Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, from 1923—1931.
Newspaper Archival Access Beyond SU (offline and online)
ProQuest Text & Data Mining [TDM Studio]
Led by: Michael Pasqualoni (Librarian for the Newhouse School)
Description: Save yourself research time and wilt the walls trapping you inside Wikipedia. Participate in this workshop and expand your options for pulling together in-depth background literature on your research topic by employing scholarly encyclopedias, academic handbooks and other reference sources. Leverage your success in mastering these user friendly tools that support you as you dive deeper into the waters of the academic web.harpen your information retrieval skills working with news and newspaper databases. Recorded 9/28/20.
Resources Discussed in Workshop:
Workshop attendees take note: The content type limit in Sage Knowledge for filtering down to tertiary sources is "reference"
Annual scholarly literature reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Additional Sources Referenced During This Workshop:
Blair, A. M. (2010). Too much to know: Managing scholarly information before the modern age. Yale University Press. [see p. 3 and p. 269 for defiinitions of reference and reference book]
Reitz, J.M. (2004) ODLIS (Online Dictionary of Library & Information Science), Libraries Unlimited; ABC-CLIO.
Wright, J.D. (ed). (2015). International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences. Amsterdam, Netherlands : Elsevier, Second edition.
Welsh, T. & Wright, M. (2010). Information literacy in the digital age : An evidence-based approach. Oxford, U.K.: Chandos Publishing. {see pp. 39-40 for source type definitions]
These two online guides also provide useful definitions of primary vs. secondary vs. tertiary source types
Milner Library Illinois State University https://guides.library.illinoisstate.edu/comparetypes/categories
Princeton University Library https://libguides.princeton.edu/c.php?g=916311&p=6603501
A Final Word About N.W. Ayer & Son's Newspaper Directories
Mentioned by the facilitator as a favorite example of a directory useful for tracing the history of newspaper journalism in the United States. These historical directories summarize major industries for the many towns and cities it covers, alongside listings of newspapers that served each community. Spanning over a century, embedded within the volumes are also lovely hand-rendered maps. These are the library’s Classic Catalog item records covering these volumes:
1881 thru 1908
1910 thru 1929
1930 thru 1969
1970 thru 1971
1972 thru 1982
1983 thru 1985
For 1986 thru 2005, et al – the name of the publication then changes several times – first briefly becoming: IMS Directory of Publications, and then: Gale Directory of Publications, and then: Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. In the current, circa 2020 era, those looking for such a directory of U.S. news publications (and other media outlets) can generally turn to the database called SRDS Media Solutions. Or for non-United States newspaper directory information, consult the print edition of Willings Press Guide [current volumes shelved at the 2nd floor, current periodicals section of Bird Library - and back issues housed in the library storage facility dating back to 1928].
Advanced Literature Searching for STEM Fields, Led by Emily Hart
Description: Join Emily Hart, Science Librarian, Research Impact Lead, for a hands-on workshop where you'll learn about key resources for finding the latest literature in your field. You'll also learn techniques for organizing your research, including developing search strategies, setting up search alerts, citation management, and planning for your literature review. Whether you're just getting started with your research or you’re finishing up your dissertation, this workshop has something for you! This workshop fulfills one of the required checkpoints for the BioInspired Graduate & Postdoctoral Development Program, and also counts towards completion of the Research Skills & Scholarly Publishing badge. It will be offered annually.
Intended Audience: Graduate and PhD students in STEM disciplines
Date and Time:
Beyond The One Line Query: Advanced Database Searching Workshop, Led by Michael Pasqualoni
Description: Like a one line part in a play or movie can be forgettable, Google creates a love affair with the one line search window. This is not a relationship built to last in every research situation. Improve your comfort level for arriving at manageable sets of relevant scholarly database search results through this workshop on the use of fielded searching, subject descriptor searching and related advanced techniques.
Intended Audience: Freshmen & Sophomores
Date and Times:
Educational Resouces, K-12, Higher Ed, Led by Giovanna Colosi
Description: Learn more abut specific databases and research strategies for Education majors.
Intended Audience: Anyone
Date and Time:
Enhancing Your Research Reputation and Visibility, Led by Emily Hart
Description: Increase your chances of being noticed by a future academic employer, award or funding organization, and other researchers in your field. Join Emily Hart, SU Science Librarian & Research Impact Lead, to learn strategies for expanding the visibility of your research. This hands-on workshop will discuss places where you can create a research profile, like Google Scholar, ORCID, Mendeley, and LinkedIn. The workshop will also cover topics like open access, research metrics, and altmetrics, and how they can impact researcher reputation and visibility.
Date and Time:
"How Do I Know if an Article is Scholarly?" Exploring Different Types of Periodicals, Led by Abby Kasowitz-Scheer
Description: Your instructor requires that you use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources in your research paper. What does that mean? And how do you tell the difference between scholarly and popular sources? This workshop will help you identify characteristics of different types of periodicals and help you determine which sources might be suitable for your research.
Intended Audience: Undergraduates
Date and Time:
Jumpstart Your Journalism Research, Led by Michael Pasqualoni
Description: Sharpen your information retrieval skills working with news and newspaper databases.
Intended Audience: Undergraduates or Graduates
Date and Time:
Not in English Please. Research Tips, Led by S. Ann Skiold
Description: This session will focus on scholarly sources for non-English literature and film
Intended Audience: Undergraduate and Graduate Students
Date and Time:
Research Starting Points @ SU Libraries, Led by Abby Kasowitz-Scheer
Description: The SU Libraries website is a rich gateway to information resources for your academic research needs. As SU students, you have access to many articles, e-books, and other resources that are not freely available online. This session introduces you to key research tools including Summon, databases and research guides and provides some basic searching tips to get you started.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate and Graduate Students
Date and Times:
Rhetorical Source Analysis, Led by Kelly Delevan
Description: Sources can have many different rhetorical uses. Use the BEAM method to identify Background, Evidence, Argument and Method sources that will support and inform your research questions.
Intended Audience: Undergraduate students in WRT courses
Date and Times:
Saving and Citing Your Sources: An Introduction to Zotero, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: This introduction will provide an overview of Zotero, a free platform that allows students and researchers to save and annotate sources, collaborate with classmates and colleagues, generate citations and bibliographies in papers, and access references from anywhere. Students and researchers of all experience levels are encouraged to attend and ask questions.
Intended Audience: All Levels
Date and Time:
Technical Writing, Led by Juan Denzer
Description: Introduce three main types of technical writing: traditional, end-user, and technical marketing content. Attendees will learn some of the key attributes that can be applied to all styles of technical writing. The session will also cover some useful writing tools along with some examples of technical writing.
Intended Audience: All Levels
Date and Time:
Tertiary Tide: Surfing into Specialized Reference Sources at an R1 Research University, Led by Michael Pasqualoni
Description: Save yourself research time and wilt the walls trapping you inside Wikipedia. Participate in this workshop and expand your options for pulling together in-depth background literature on your research topic by employing scholarly encyclopedias, academic handbooks and other reference sources. Leverage your success in mastering these user friendly tools that support you as you dive deeper into the waters of the academic web.
Intended Audience: All Levels
Date and Time:
"The Painted Word", Led by S. Ann Skiold
Description: This workshop will focus on scholarly text, images with provenance, and context.
Intended Audience: All Members of the Campus Community
Date and Time:
The Public and Your Publications: Strategies for Handling the Misappropriation or Misrepresentation of Your Research, Led by Winn Wasson
Description: The good news is that your research got published. The bad news is that a group you have never heard of is now misappropriating or misrepresenting it to push an agenda that neither you nor actual research conclusions support. This workshop aims to help you prepare for how to handle these situations should they arise.
Intended Audience: Faculty and Graduate Students
Date and Time:
(this workshop has been postponed due to illness) we will reschedule in the Spring.
"Where do I Start?" Researching for Beginners, Narrowing your Topic, Finding Resources, etc., Led by Giovanna Colosi
Description: You are new to researching and not sure where to begin? How do I know where to find sources? Where are reputable sources? Don't fret, come to this beginners workshop to have all your questions answered!
Intended Audience: New Undergraduate and Graduate Researchers
Date and Time: