Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

Learn! at Syracuse University Libraries: Spring 2024 Workshops

Guide to Syracuse University Libraries research workshop series.

Information Literacy for Teaching Assistants

Information Literacy for Teaching Assistants  

Description: How can you build critical thinking skills within the students that you work with? What skills can help you in your own research? Join Librarian Kelly Delevan and her team of Information Literacy Scholars to learn about how information literacy concepts and skills can be applied when working with students in a variety of contexts.

Sponsored by the GSO and Syracuse University Libraries.

Reserve your spot today by registering at  https://syr.libwizard.com/f/tainfolit.   Refreshments will be provided. 
Date: Monday, January 29th
Time: 5:00 PM-6:30 PM  
Location: Bird Library First Floor, Peter Graham Room 114

Introduction to Artificial Intelligence and ChatGPT

Introduction to Artificial Intelligence and ChatGPT, led by John Stawarz

Description: Artificial intelligence is everywhere—news headlines, classrooms, and even embedded within library resources. This workshop, led by online learning librarian John Stawarz, will introduce you to the topic of artificial intelligence, highlight some of the main tools now available (including ChatGPT), demonstrate some of these tools, offer guidance on using AI tools in your academic coursework, and answer any questions you might have.

Intended Audience: Undergraduate, Graduate students

Date:Friday, March 22, 1-2pm on zoom: https://syracuseuniversity.zoom.us/j/95451858183?pwd=YVBDL3lPTHoxSG9HS3R5RlU4dVFvZz09 

 

Register here.

 

 

Data Justice: Authenticity, Agency, and Advocacy

Data Justice: Authenticity, Agency, and Advocacy

Presented by: Srivi Ramasubramanian, PhD, Newhouse Professor & Endowed Chair

Description: Against the backdrop of rising global inequalities, misinformation, and right-wing authoritarianism, this presentation takes a critical decolonial lens to discuss the role of data as a tool for social justice. We consider 3A's - Authenticity, Agency, and Advocacy - in how data are conceptualized, accessed, evaluated, and shared. We apply these principles to our own project and positionality to brainstorm more ethical ways of approaching data.

Reserve your spot today by registering at https://syr.libwizard.com/f/datajustice . Hurry, as seats are limited! Refreshments will be provided. Sponsored by the GSO and Syracuse University Libraries.

Date: Wednesday 3/27/2024

Time: 5pm-7pm

Room: Bird Library First Floor, Peter Graham, Room 114

Researching Material Histories with SCRC’s Plastics Collection

Researching Material Histories with SCRC’s Plastics Collection

Presented By: Courtney Hicks and Jana Rosinski from the Special Collections Research Center

Description: Did you know that Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) is home to the largest collection on the history of plastics in the U.S.? This resource, known as the Plastics Collection, consists of archival collections, rare books, printed materials, and over 3,000 historical plastic artifacts spanning the rise of plastics in 19th and 20th century American culture. Students can research these primary sources onsite at the SCRC as well as online. Join SCRC Lead Curator and Curator of Plastics and Historical Artifacts Courtney Hicks and SCRC Instruction and Education Librarian Jana Rosinski for a hands-on research session exploring, analyzing, and contextualizing primary sources within the Plastics Collection.

Reserve your spot today by registering at https://syr.libwizard.com/f/plastics . Refreshments will be provided. Sponsored by the GSO and Syracuse University Libraries.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Undergraduate Students, Faculty, Staff.

Date: Wednesday, April 17

Time: 4:30pm-6:30pm

Locations: Spector Room (608) and Hillyer Room (606), Bird Library, Sixth Floor

Old Books, New Books, Care and Preservation

Old Books, New Books, Care and Preservation  

Presented by: David Stokoe and Marianne Swanberry Hanley of Syracuse University Libraries

Description: Are you a bibliophile? A student in Library Science or Museum Studies? A lover of history or ancient artifacts? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then please join us on March 7th for a fascinating discussion on book preservation and conservation. The Syracuse University Libraries have a vast array of collections, both that circulate and those that do not. From handwritten manuscripts on velum to the earliest printed book during the Tang Dynasty in China 618-906 AD to Gutenberg printing press books in 1455, come learn more about these special collections, why they are important and how our SU Librarians preserve them.

Reserve your spot today by registering at https://syr.libwizard.com/f/carepreserv. Hurry, as seats are limited! Refreshments will be provided. Sponsored by the GSO and Syracuse University Libraries.

Date: Thursday 3/7/2024

Time: 5pm-7pm

Room: Bird Library First Floor, Peter Graham Room 114

How to conduct inclusive research

How to Conduct Inclusive Searching: Incorporating Diverse Voices Into Your Research, Led by Kelly Delevan

Join Kelly Delevan for a hands-on workshop focusing on privileging other voices in scholarly searches. While recognizing that academic libraries often work within systems that rely on European and western ways of thinking, organizing, and knowing, we find it essential to reconstruct searching strategies to equitably include underrepresented and underserved voices. Come join our discussion on how to conduct inclusive searching to better incorporate sources from diverse and marginalized voices. 

Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Faculty, Staff

Date and Time: 

  • Thursday April 18, 2:30-4:00 Bird Library Lower Level (046)

 Register Here

 

Using Generative AI for Literature Reviews and Enhancing your Dissertation/ Thesis

Using Generative AI for Literature Reviews and Enhancing your Dissertation/ Thesis

Presented By: Engineering and Computer Science Librarian Juan Denzer and Online Learning Librarian John Stawarz

Description: This workshop will introduce you to Generative AI tools such as ChatGPT, Bard, and Claude as well as others. Librarians will demonstrate how to use these tools effectively and ethically in an academic setting through examples. They will include how to use AI to help you summarize an article, choose a research topic, and enhance parts of your thesis/dissertation. In addition to demonstrations, they will answer any questions you might have.

Reserve your spot today by registering at https://syr.libwizard.com/f/generativeAI 

Sponsored by the GSO and Syracuse University Libraries.

Intended Audience: Graduate Students, Undergraduate Students, Faculty, Staff.

Date: Tuesday, April 16th,

Time: 6:00-7:00pm

Location: via ZOOM