Research Guides: Coronavirus (COVID-19): Research: Articles & Databases

Databases

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.

SimplyAnalytics has added COVID-19 data that can be downloaded or mapped within the database.

There are currently 304 data layers to choose from and new data is added daily.

“Confirmed cases of COVID-19 by date”
“Confirmed cases/100,000 by date”
“Deaths from COVID-19 by date”
“Death/100,000 by date”

Sign into your free account or continue as a Guest. Once in the database, click the “Location tab” and search for the location you want.

Next, click the “Data tab” and then scroll down and click on the “Health” icon.
Check the COVID-19 box to display the data layers and click on the layers you want to use.
Next, Click the MAP icon in the far righthand column to display your map.
Click on the other three icons in that column to see comparisons, reports and rankings.
Click on the EXPORT button at the top right to download the map, chart or report.

DATA SOURCE:

The SimplyAnalytics data source for tracking COVID- 19 is the non-profit and non-partisan data service, USAFACTS. References to COVID 19 data visualization tables are also available at the USAFACTS site.
Viewing the data in the SimplyAnalytics environment offers an advantage for creating customized maps or data tables, including focus at many levels of desired geographic analysis for selected U.S. states, Nielsen Designated Market Areas (DMAs), Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities, Zip Codes, Census Tracts, Block Groups and Addresses. Alongside COVID- 19 data, researchers can analyze U.S. Census data categories such as age, race & ethnicity, poverty, income, education and consumer behavior data drawn from Nielsen Scarborough and Easy Analytic Software (EASI) consumer surveys.

COVID-19 Research Database
The COVID-19 research database enables public health and policy researchers to use real-world data to better understand and combat the COVID-19 pandemic. The database is a pro-bono, cross-industry collaborative, composed of institutions donating technology services, healthcare expertise, and de-identified data. The database is a public-private consortium organized by Datavant, Health Care Cost Institute, Medidata, Mirador Analytics, Veradigm, Change Healthcare, Snowflake and many others.
WHO COVID-19 Research Database
The WHO COVID-19 Research Database is a resource created in response to the Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC). Its content remains searchable and represents the time period March 2020 to June 2023. June 23rd 2023 onwards manual updates have been paused as they review the need for continuation of the database.

Articles, books, and other resources from selected publishers (freely accessible)

Biocentury
In response to the urgent need for information about the coronavirus crisis, BioCentury’s coverage of the policy developments, scientific advances, and progress on countermeasures for free. This collection is frequently updated as research develops. Biocentury is internationally recognized as the leading provider of value-added information, analysis and data for biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies, investors, academia and government on the strategic issues essential to the formation, development and sustainability of life science ventures
Cell Press
One the Cell Press hub page, you'll find their policies for submitting papers related to COVID-19, as well as content about the outbreak as it appears in Cell Press journals.
Cochrane Library Special Collections
This Cochrane Library Special Collection assembles Cochrane Reviews identified as most directly relevant to the prevention of infection. It includes reviews that evaluate the effects of interventions referenced in the WHO interim guidance for the 2019 coronavirus outbreak (28 January 2020), as well as other potentially relevant reviews from three Cochrane Networks: Cochrane Public Health and Health Systems; Cochrane Musculoskeletal, Oral, Skin and Sensory; and Cochrane Acute and Emergency Care
Coronavirus Research Database
A special collection brought to you by Proquest that curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Elsevier
Collection of expert, curated information for the research and health community on Novel Coronavirus (also referred to as COVID-19 and its temporary title 2019-nCoV). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients.
JAMA
Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness
The Lancet
To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All content listed on this page is free to access.
LitCOVID
LitCovid is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 370,856
(and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations.
The New England Journal of Medicine
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Ovid
Wolters Kluwer continues to update its Covid-19 resources to support rapid response healthcare teams and researchers working to address the global coronavirus crisis.
Springer Nature
collection of COVID-19 related research articles from Springer Nature journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. All content listed here is free to access.
Taylor & Francis : COVID-19 Novel Coronavirus content
This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.
Wiley
Collection of COVID-19 relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in major references published by Wiley. All contents are freely available.

List of Readings
Articles included focus on generational response to COVID (including generational attitudes toward different facets of the pandemic), as well as some additional areas related to the psychosocial dynamics underlying behavioral responses that transcend age or generational differences and emphasize that COVID response is also associated with personal and collective identity, values, personal and collective self-efficacy, and social norms. Some of these articles also examine the economic differentials among generations with regard to the pandemic and how those differentials affect attitudes and behaviors.

From the Experts (Video with transcripts)

U.S. Government Agencies

Search COVID-19 in the search boxes on these Agency websites for news, reports and articles on the coronavirus.