Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Over the past two decades, entertainment television shows such as The Daily Show with Trevor Noah have played an increasingly important role in the conversations taking place not only in the United States, but all around the world. This page of the research guide serves as a starting point for beginning your research into the intersection of political satire and the media. If you have any questions about your research related to Media and Satire, or any suggestions for this page, please don't hesitate to contact Michael Pasqualoni (firstname.lastname@example.org), Librarian for Communications and Public Affairs at Syracuse University Libraries. Michael has also created a number of other research guides related to mass communication and politics, including the following guides:
To watch recent episodes and clips from The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, please visit the show's website.
Starting Points for Research on Mass Communication & Satire
Entertaining Politics: Satiric Television and Political Engagement by
Jeffrey Jones charts the evolution and maturation of political entertainment television by examining The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, The Colbert Report, Politically Incorrect/Real Time with Bill Maher, and Michael Moore's TV Nation and The Awful Truth. This volume investigates how and why these shows have been central locations for the critique of political and economic power and an important resource for citizens during numerous political crises. In an age of Truthiness, fake news and humorous political talk have proven themselves viable forms of alternative reporting and critical means for ascertaining truth, and in the process, questioning the legitimacy of news media's role as the primary mediator of political life. The book also addresses the persistent claims that these programs have cynical effects and create misinformed young citizens, demonstrating instead how such programming provides for an informed, active, and meaningful citizenship.
The SAGE Guide to Key Issues in Mass Media Ethics and Law by
This two-volume resource focuses on matters that regularly provide front-page headlines concerning rights and responsibilities of both speech and press, libel, technological threats to privacy, paparazzi and celebrities, sensationalism in media coverage of high-profile trials, cameras in the courtroom, federal and state freedom of information and "sunshine" laws, checkbook journalism, use of confidential sources, national security concerns and the press, digital duplication and deception, fair use, rights of celebrities, plagiarism and more.
Encyclopedia of Humor Studies by
The Encyclopedia of Humor: A Social History explores the concept of humor in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. This work's scope encompasses the humor of children, adults, and even nonhuman primates throughout the ages, from crude jokes and simple slapstick to sophisticated word play and ironic parody and satire.
The Onion and Philosophy by
The Onion, with its unique brand of deadpan satirical humor, has become a familiar part of the American scene. Twenty-one philosophers were commissioned to figure out just what makes the Onion so truthful and insightful. Are the Onion writers truly cynical, or just cynically faking it?
Tickling Giants Uniting Egypt through Laughter in Tumultuous Times (video)
Dubbed "The Egyptian Jon Stewart," Dr. Bassem Yousssef creates the most viewed television program in the Middle East. He has 30 million viewers per episode, compared to The Daily Show with Jon Stewart's 2 million viewers. In a country where free speech is not settled law, Bassem comes up with creative ways to non-violently challenge abuses of power. He endures physical threats, protests, and legal action - all because of his politically charged jokes.
Politics Is a Joke! How TV Comedians Are Remaking Political Life by
Does late night political humor matter? Are late-night comedians merely entertaining, or do they have the power to influence the way we think about politics and politicians? Politics Is a Joke! situates late night comedy in the historical context of political humor and demonstrates how the public turn to this venue for political information, and are in turn affected by it.
Encyclopedia of Satirical Literature by
The Encyclopedia of Satirical Literature brings together commentary on some of the best and most influential satirical works from throughout history and around the world. Organized alphabetically, it lists key works and characters, authors, pertinent terms, styles, and literary periods.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Communication by
Publication Date: 2014 (online) 2017 (print)
Theories and Effects of Political Humor: Discounting Cues, Gateways, and the Impact of Incongruities. Chapter by
Dannagal G. Young
As both an art form and a mode of persuasive discourse, the use of political humor dates back to ancient Greece and Rome. For centuries politicians, citizens, and elites have marveled at and even feared its powerful—and magical—influence on public opinion. By reflecting on various approaches to the study of political humor’s content, audience, and impact, this chapter offers scholars multiple ways to consider the effects of political humor on individuals and society. It culminates with a consideration of the latest advances in the study of political humor and humor theory and poses challenges to those in the field to better explicate micro-level processes that incorporate structural elements of the text and characteristics of the audience.
Databases for Additional Research
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
Film & Television Literature Index
SU Libraries is evaluating this resource and welcomes your feedback. Please help us with the evaluation by filling out this brief survey.
Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
Proquest News & Newspapers
One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch, US Newsstream and International Newsstream. ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. If you'd like to explore editorial or political cartoons, ProQuest allows users to filter search results by content type. If ProQuest states that it cannot display an image due to copyright restrictions, try viewing the PDF.
Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Nexis Uni also provides access to several newspapers from South Africa.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.