Research Guides: Archaeology & Biological Anthropology: E-Resources

E-book collections

Each of these collections allows for full-text searching of all titles simultaneously:

Annual Reviews
Annual scholarly literature reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
EBSCO ebooks
ProQuest eBook Central
Create a sign-in to get access to all feature
Books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Knovel
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
Oxford Reference Online
6/5/2023 - access currently unavailable - please check back later
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

SAGE Research Methods Online

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO). SRMO provides access to information about research methods compiled from a variety of Sage publications, including books/handbooks, articles, and the “Little Green Book” series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences. SRMO is searchable and browsable by author, and it includes a methods map, as well as video tutorials. Results can be refined to focus on specific academic disciplines of interest.

Great resource for learning more about what comprises a specific research method, with a view into how that method was applied within actual published scholarly literature.

analysis of variance (ANOVA)
ethnography
focus groups
interviews
mixed methods
narrative analysis
qualitative research
quantitative data analysis
regression
sampling
social network analysis
structural equation modeling
surveys
time-series analysis
visual representations
...and more

Useful Article! 2015 - Comparing Digital Archaeological Repositories

Comparing Digital Archaeological Repositories: tDAR Versus Open Context

Beth Sheehan
Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarian
Vol. 34, Iss. 4 (Dec), 2015, p. 173-213

Repositories of Digital Collections

Anthropology Commons
Part of the Digital Commons Network, providing free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide - BE Press.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
SSRN
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research

SURFACE
SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment database of mostly open access scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.

Socarxiv
A free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.