Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Watch for the SULinks icon
When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.
Core literature databases for Anthropology
South African produced index including journals, books, and documents covering Africa and African studies. Content includes the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, from the National Library of Namibia.
African Journals Online: AJOL
Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences.
Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
EHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
Other important related databases
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Trade, professional and technical society journals and magazines, covering applied sciences, computing, engineering and more from 1983 to present.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
3D human body anatomy with physiology content, as well as case studies, study guides and more.