Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core literature databases for Anthropology
South African produced index including journals, books, and documents covering Africa and African studies. Content includes the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, from the National Library of Namibia.
African Journals Online: AJOL
Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences.
Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
EHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
Index to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, covering Latin America, the Caribbean, Hispanics and Latinos in the United States; a project of the Latin American Institute, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).
Linguistics Abstracts Online : LABS
Index and abstracts to scholarly articles published in linguistics journals.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Handbooks containing articles providing updates and summaries of scholarship in a number of fields.
Other important databases
Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Books from Oxford University Press covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.