Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
The resources on this guide are split into three categories:
- Finding Background Information
The resources in this box can point you to reference materials and other contextualizing sources to get you up to speed on your topic: understanding background and timelines, learning who key players and communities are, and understanding multiple sides of the issue.
- Finding Books and E-books
These sources will point you to library resources both in print and electronic.
- Finding Research Resources
Research sources in this box focus on scholarly work--research appearing in peer-reviewed scholarly journals and other sources--which documents the research that has been undertaken on your topic. This might include journal articles, e-books, or multimedia sources.
- Regions, People, and Styles
Research sources on these pages focus on regional areas and specific references for groups.
- How to Cite Sources
This page will direct you to resources on citing sources in APA format.
Finding Background Information
Major reference sources in music are a good place to start your research. Reference articles can be about geographic locations, cultures, styles, genres, specific musicians, musical groups, and instruments. They provide broad coverage at an introductory level, allowing you to become familiar with the terminology and context of your topic.
Also check out the other sections of this guide on different geographic regions/styles for additional subject-specific resources.
Oxford Music Online
Good for looking up terms, people, instruments, locations, and styles within Western art music, jazz, American popular music, musical theater, and traditional and folk music from around the world.
Contains: New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of American Music, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Articles on musicians, styles, instruments, genres, geographic areas, and more.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online by
Good for looking up locations and cultures when researching world traditional and folk music
This standard music reference source is organized geographically into ten volumes and also has accompanying sound recordings. Browse content by continent and country.
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture by
Publication Date: 2019-03-28
Good for looking up concepts when studying music in the context of cultural; Provides introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world's musical cultures, styles, and practices.
Music in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Encyclopedia by
Good for looking up terms related to music within the broader interdisciplinary frame of anthropology, communications, psychology, linguistics, sociology, sports, political science and economics, as well as biology and the health sciences. A Reader's Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes, making it easy for readers to quickly identify related entries. A Chronology of Music places material into historical context; a Glossary defines key terms from the field; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross-references.
Bloomsbury (Continuum) Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Good for researching popular music from America and around the world
v.1 Media, Industry, & Society -- Look up social phenomena, such as death, gender, record collecting
v.2 Performance & Production -- Look up names of performance techniques, ensemble types, production roles, equipment, instruments, and harmony, melody, and rhythm terminology
v.3-7 Locations -- Look up names of countries, regions, and cities
v.8-11 Genres -- Look up names of genres/styles
The SAGE Handbook of Popular Music by
Publication Date: 2015-03-14
Good for researching global popular music, cultural and identity studies, and the global music business.
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by
Call Number: M1627 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
Since the appearance of the first edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems in 2003, many new events and situations have radically redrawn the political boundaries of the world map and redefined the policies and goals of individual nation-states from Nepal to Afghanistan, Mozambique to Montenegro. All of these shifts have entailed the creation or adoption of new anthems or the modification of existing ones. This revised and expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems not only makes the long-overdue updates to the national anthems of the world but also improves upon the quality and accuracy of the music sheets and historical backgrounds through consultation with a greater number and wider variety of source materials.Every political entity with non-Latin script now has its original lyrics documented in the book, while English translations have been modified to better express meaning and intent. Flags and maps have been added to the country fact sheets to provide a visual complement to the text. In addition to current sovereign countries, this edition includes in separate sections the anthems of international organizations; of Kosovo, South Ossetia, and other non-UN states; and of extinct countries, such as the former Soviet Union and East Germany. This collection does not adhere to any political stance but instead reflects the contested and complicated nature of the modern nation-state, whose boundaries remain fluid and ever subject to change.This new edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems is an indispensable reference source for students and academic scholars for school projects and academic research initiatives. Libraries will find the new edition a valuable addition to their collections, as will government and diplomatic missions requiring a handy reference for international exchange. For the casual reader, this compilation also provides a wealth of resources that both inform and entertain.
Music and Performing Arts Librarian