Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommendations and Resources from Syracuse University Career Services
Syracuse University Career Services
Main website for Syracuse University Career Services.
Career Exploration Guide
Syracuse University Career Services' online guide for those who are beginning to explore their career options. Includes recommended Self-Discovery Yools (such as the Strong Interest Inventory) and specific Career Guides for First-Years/Sophomores, Juniors/Seniors, and Graduate Students.
Career research resources recommended by Syracuse University Career Services. See especially the subsections on Researching Careers, Field-Specific Resources, Specialized Resources, and Salary Research.
Job Search Guide
Syracuse University Career Services' online guide for job seekers. See especially the section on Search Resources (a compilation of recommended job search websites).
Handshake is Syracuse University’s new career management tool where students can find all job and internship postings, career fair and event details, employer information sessions, and employer descriptions.
Create an account with your syr.edu email address to access crucial insider information on industries, careers, employer cultures, preferred qualifications, interviewing styles and formats, and much more.
Recommended Databases for Career Research
In addition to the resources and tips from Syracuse University Career Services (see recommendations above), use the company, industry, and article research databases provided by Syracuse University Libraries to create lists of prospective employers, find jobs, discover industry trends and industry associations, and learn everything you can about a company before you interview.
Learn more about the industry in which you would like to work. Discover trends, top companies, and future outlook.
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Insights: Essentials
Includes company profiles, financials, and SWOT analyses, associations, market share reports, business publications, and more. Search by keyword or NAICS code in "Industries" to discover relevant industry reports.
Create your own targeted lists of companies where you might like to work (using industry codes, such as NAICS codes, geography, and other criteria) and learn everything you can about a certain company before you interview.
Provides access to information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, key business ratios, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Features thousands of U.S. and Canadian company profiles. Especially strong in smaller companies, which may not be included in other company databases. Includes a U.S. New Businesses search, with new businesses added each week.
Business Article Databases
Find more information about a company, industry, or career by searching in business article databases.
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite
Coverage for hundreds of business publications and economics journals, including peer-reviewed publications. Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.
Business Information Guide
See the Business Information Guide to find more information and resources relevant for career and business research.
Business, Management, & Entrepreneurship Librarian