The resources on the lists below will bring you to more specific, and often scholarly, souces that address your topic. You'll also find access to datasets, multimedia, and other types of resouces among these resources. If you have questions or need help using any of these resources at any time, get in touch with a librarian.
Databases with Scholarly & Popular/Mass Media Material
- ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Includes magazines Time, The Atlantic, Harper's New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Vanity Fair, Sports Illustrated, Jet, Rolling Stone, Remix, etc.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega
Smaller, but similar to ProQuest Central. Features some additional titles including Mother Jones, The Atlantic, Newsweek.
- Communication Source
Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- FIAF: Index to Film Periodicals Plus
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Databases with Primarily Scholarly Material
- Social Sciences Full Text
covers sociology, social work, family studies, marriage and family therapy and more.
- Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.
Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
- New York Times Historical Archive
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.