This is the "Home" page of the "SOM 122 - Perspectives of Business and Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library

SOM 122 - Perspectives of Business and Management  

The Management Freshman Gateway Course
Last Updated: May 1, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/som122 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This Web Guide is a supplement to your SOM 122 Course Handbook. It was designed by librarians and SOM faculty to help you complete your industry analysis project by pointing you to online and print resources that are necessary for your research.

 

Locating Industry Classification Codes

What is an industry code?

Recommended Databases for Industries

The library subscribes to over 400 electronic databases that index a wide variety of materials. So while this list is not exhaustive, it should get you started in those databases especially helpful to researchers looking for industry profiles and data.

  • IBISWorld Industry Market Research
    Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
  • MarketLine Advantage (formerly Datamonitor 360)
    Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion. This is a merger of the previous MarketLine and Business Insights databases.
  • Plunkett Research Online
    Plunkett research online takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.
  • Business Insights: Essentials  
      
    Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.

Recommended Databases for Articles

The following databases will help you search for articles in academic/scholarly journals, business magazines, trade press and newspapers. This is just a subset of our journal article indexing databases. Search the complete list of databases available at SU Library for more options.

  • Business Source Elite
    Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S. Full abstract and indexing coverage begins with 1992. Full text available for over 600 titles.

Web Resources

Here are some more non-library links to help with your industry research.

 

Industry Financials (in print)

 

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios

Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records. Call Number: HF5681.R25 A5.

 

Industry norms and key business ratios, one year

Arranged by SIC code, this work includes financial data and important ratios from an aggregate number of establishments within an industry. Examination of this information establishes present and future norms from which a ventures performance can be judged. Call Number: HF5681.R25 I53.

 

IRS corporate financial ratios

This comprehensive annual reference features 76 key financial ratios calculated from the latest income statement and balance sheet data available from Internal Revenue Service corporate tax returns. One page per NAICS industry (over 250 in all) shows ratios for profitable firms versus firms with losses in up to four asset size classes. Call Number: HF5681.B2 I7.

 

RMA annual statement studies

Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business. Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip