Skip to main content

Basic Research in Sociology and other Social Sciences

Basic research skills and resources in sociology and other disciplines of the social sciences including evaluating sources, journal articles, statistical information and websites.

Video and Music Collections

Check out SU Libraries' website on its Video and Music Collections

Video Collections
The Syracuse University Libraries have approximately 6,000 DVDs and 8,000 videocassettes that cover all subject areas. This collection is accessed by request at the 3rd Floor Check-In/Out and Help desk, by emailing multimed@syr.edu, or calling 315-443-4176. All items in the video/film collection can be found in the Classic Catalog .
 

Music Collection
In addition to music books and scores, the SU Libraries maintain a collection of records, compact discs, and music cassette tapes. The collection contains music ranging from classical (Western and non-Western), jazz, folk, world, and popular music genres to musical theater. All items in the music collection can be found in the Classic Catalog. 

Selected Library Database

FILMAKERS LIBRARY ONLINE

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum�race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy Logo

Suggestions of Videos for Teaching

This website is about teaching Sociology through film.  The SU Library does not have all of these films; however, if you find a film you would like, you can check the Catalog to see if we have it and email Bonnie Ryan a request for anything you would like the Library to order.  We will do our best to get it for you as the budget allows.  It is helpful to send requests as early as possible before the semester when you want to show the film, as the amount of time producers take to fill requests varies widely.


Sociology Through Documentary Film