Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Special Collections Sessions: Home

Information about bringing your undergraduate or graduate class to the Special Collections Research Center for an introductory or thematic session

Home

The Special Collections Research Center welcomes undergraduate and graduate class visits year-round. Curators and SCRC staff are available to provide tailored introductory and thematic presentations on our collection materials to your students. We conduct sessions for a wide variety of courses and departments and are happy to work with you to develop presentations in all subject areas.

We've conducted sessions for the following courses:

  • AAS 112/ANT 112 Introduction to African American Studies
  • AAS 331 The African American Novel
  • AAS 332 African American History through the 19th Century
  • AAS/HST 333 African American History after the 19th Century
  • AAS 345 African American Religious History / History of African American Religion
  • AAS 402 Slavery and Abolition
  • AAS 525 Research Methods in African American Studies
  • AJP 606 Feature and Critical Writing
  • ANT 300 Mummies, Tomb, and Treasure
  • ANT 348/HAR 200 The History of Archeology
  • ANT 400/600 Excavating Bodies in the Archives
  • APH 261 Introduction to Art Photography
  • APH 564 Image/Sequence: Photo Book
  • ARC 134 Introduction to the History of Architecture II
  • ARC 208 A New Institution
  • ARC 500 Material Marcel
  • ARC 500 Upstate Modern Air Conditions
  • ART 300 Faking It: History of Synthetic Materials
  • ART 300/500 Archive as Art
  • CAR 400/600 Comics and Graphic Literature
  • CAS 100 Fairy Tales Uncloaked
  • CAS 100 Lyric Adventures and Poetic Form
  • CAS 100 Medieval World in Popular Culture
  • CAS 100 Poetry of Struggle
  • CAS 101 First Year Forum
  • CCR 633 Writing Rhetoric and Technologies
  • CCR 635 Advanced Research Practices
  • CCR 751 Social History of Rhetoric
  • CFE 700 Gender, Sexuality, and Disability
  • CFE 700 Race and DisAbility
  • CFE 700 Race and the Making of American Education
  • CRS 316 Introduction to Visual Culture
  • DFH 695 Historical Narratives and Interpretation
  • DSP 700 Historicizing Disability & Gender
  • EAR 200 Darwin and the History of Evolutionary Theory
  • ENG 630 Methods and Issues in Victorian Studies
  • ENG 650 Forms Vision
  • ENG 730 History of the Book
  • ENG 730 Visual Cultures of Witnessing
  • ETS 113 Survey of British Literature to 1789
  • ETS 153 Interpretation of Fiction
  • ETS 192 Gender and Literary Texts
  • ETS 200 Modern Horror Fiction
  • ETS 305 Critical Analysis: History of the Book
  • ETS 305 Critical Analysis: Literature and its Media
  • ETS 410 Forms and Genres: 20th and 21st Century American Poetry
  • ETS 420 The Book in the Middle Ages
  • ETS 420 Topics in Cultural Production and Reception
  • ETS 420 Victorian Domesticity
  • FND 115 2D Creative Processes
  • FND 116 Book Art
  • FRE 315 French Civilization
  • FRE 400/600 Visions and Voyages
  • FRE 409 French Culture and Revolution
  • GEO 400 Urban Environmental History and Political Ecology
  • HED 605 The American College and University
  • HNR 100 Honors Program Orientation / Honors Orientation Seminar
  • HNR 220 Seminar: Political Culture and Practice
  • HNR 340 Beautiful Minds
  • HNR 350 Linked Lenses: Science, Philosophy, and the Pursuit of Knowledge
  • HNR 360 Necropolitics
  • HOA 300 19th Century European Art
  • HOA 371 Photography and the Fine Arts
  • HOA 498 Senior Seminar: Research and Professional Practice
  • HOA 459 Realism to Symbolism
  • HOA 500 Art and Architecture at SU
  • HOA 500 Precolumbiana: Forms, Images, Politics
  • HOA 500 The Italian Renaissance Home
  • HOA 500 / ARI 495 / AIC 600 Archives as Art
  • HOA 655 Graduate Research Methods and Scholarly Writing
  • HOM 313 Film Music
  • HOM 325 Music in Latin America
  • HST 211 Medieval and Renaissance Europe
  • HST 300 The Renaissance of War
  • HST 301 Practicum in the Study of History
  • HST 400 Chronos
  • HST 401 American Intellectuals/European Influences
  • HST 735 Readings and Research in European History
  • HST 804 First Year Graduate Research Seminar
  • IND 377 Industrial Design Typography Studio
  • IND 471 Interdisciplinary Product Development
  • IST 511 Introduction to the Library and Information Profession
  • IST 622 Organization & Management of Archives
  • IST 632 Management & Organization of Special Collections
  • LIT 241 Dante and the Medieval World
  • LIT 245 / ITA 300 Florence and Renaissance Civilization
  • MPD 639 Multimedia Photography and Design
  • MUE 615 Introduction to Research in Music
  • MUS 503 Introduction to Museum Studies
  • MUS 506 Ethnographic Curatorship
  • NEW 205 News Writing
  • PAI 730 Problems in Public Administration
  • PRT 552 Hand Paper Print/Book Workshop
  • REL 114 The Bible / The Bible in History, Culture, and Religion
  • SOC 334 Criminal Justice
  • SPA 300/400/600 Global Spanish Film
  • SPA 400 Individual and Society in Early Modern Spain
  • SPA 600 Latin American Literature of the New Millennium
  • SPA 641 Medieval and Golden Age Literature
  • TRM 153 Transmedia Studio Concepts
  • TRM 154 Transmedia Interconnected Studios
  • WRT 105 Academic Writing
  • WRT 105 Writing Studio 1
  • WRT 105 Visual Rhetoric
  • WRT 200 DIY Publishing
  • WRT 205 Cultural Perspectives on Psychoactive Drug Use
  • WRT 205 Studio 2: Critical Research and Writing
  • WRT 205 Syracuse as Place
  • WRT 205 Working Lives and Literacies from a Global Perspective
  • WRT 301 Advanced Writing Studio
  • WRT 303 Advanced Writing Studio: Research and Writing
  • WRT 426 Studies in Writing, Rhetoric, and Information Technology

Schedule a Session

Interested in bringing your class to SCRC? Contact Colleen Theisen.

Campus Groups and Organizations

We also conduct sessions for Syracuse University groups and organizations:

  • Art History Incoming Graduate Students
  • Creative Writing MFA Students
  • German Club
  • Light Work Zine Lab
  • LIS Student Interest Group
  • Maxwell African Scholars Union
  • Religion Department Future Professoriate Program
  • Remembrance Scholars
  • School of Information Studies Prospective MSLIS Students
  • Spanish Incoming Graduate Students
  • Syracuse Literature & Text Society
  • Syracuse University Project Advance Summer Institute
  • Warrior-Scholar Project

External Groups and Classes

We welcome external groups and classes to campus for a session with us:

  • Academic Librarians Conference
  • Cooperstown Junior-Senior High School Tour
  • Ithaca College MFA Students
  • Jefferson Community College English Class
  • Le Moyne College English Class
  • Local History Summer Camp
  • Manlius Pebble Hill French Class
  • National Cartoonists Society
  • Onondaga Community College History of Photography Class
  • Skaneateles Middle School Ancient World Writing Systems Class